1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Did Corsair just silently put out the best B Die bin on the market? 4000 16-16-16-36 XMP at 1.40v!

Discussion in 'Memory' started by GregI, 8 Feb 2021.

  1. GregI

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 10 Dec 2007

    Posts: 1,439

    This is probably a missprint in specs or whatever but I'll leave this just incase.

    CMK16GX4M2G4000C16
    CMK16GX4M2Z4000C16 (AMD Version)

    Seems to have came out late November 2020 and nobody said anything, I found it by pure chance.

    This bin seems too good to believe. The thing is I googled the code and elsewhere states it might be 16-16-16-36 at 1.4v but even then this takes the pants off G. Skill's best 4000 16-19-19-39 bin also at 1.4v. I know G. Skill has a 15-16-16-36 bin at 1.5v but this is just on another level.

    I refuse to believe they binned 4000 16-16-16-36 at 1.35v or even 1.45v. Anyone willing to put an order in and see what arrives?

    Edit: Forum user Wang confirmed these are indeed 4000 16-16-16-36 at 1.40v
     
    Last edited: 11 Feb 2021
  2. Wang

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 4 Apr 2004

    Posts: 1,502

    Location: Manchester

    Looks like I'm the guinea pig ;)
     
  3. mattup

    Hitman

    Joined: 10 Jan 2006

    Posts: 820

    Location: Reading

    I am running CMT32GX4M2C3200C14 at 3600 @ 1.4

    I don't see why they won't do 4000 at CL16 if the CPU plays ball?

    Matt
     
  4. Wang

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 4 Apr 2004

    Posts: 1,502

    Location: Manchester

    [​IMG]

    Is this what you mean?
     
  5. hughythomas

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Oct 2006

    Posts: 1,395

    Location: Reigate

    Wow! So it really is 4000Mhz @ 16-16-16-36! Thats insane!

    Will OcUK stock these?
     
  6. GregI

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 10 Dec 2007

    Posts: 1,439

    Yeah that's great, thanks. Hard to say if they did cheap out on the PCB as most of the time the SPD info always states stuff like A0 (8 layers) as they don't bother to change it.

    Regardless this is most likely the best bin of b die. If you want to check I know the best bin (TeamGroup 3600C14 ARGB) can run 14-15-15-35 at 1.37v. If you can run that at 1.36v it likely takes the crown.

    I would not be surprised if this RAM became the defacto standard for Ryzen now. Here's why:

    1: An INSANE XMP profile for people looking to set and forget 2000 FCLK
    2: 3800C14 should be very easy. If the TeamGroup/G. Skill bins shown here are doing the tight 3800C14 settings at 1.5v but erroring due to the extra 3080 heat raising temps, this b die bin should be able to reach the same level at around 1.43v and make the 3080 heat a non issue.
    3: Availability is good and not a ridiculous price. If any other brand put this on market it would be £300 easy.
     
    Last edited: 10 Feb 2021
  7. jubei

    Mobster

    Joined: 3 Apr 2003

    Posts: 2,928


    Sorry to hijack but i'm confused and currently in the market for ram to complete my new 5800x build. I thought we wanted 3600 because the ryzen chips something something infinity fabric ran at 1800 so it was essentially double that. What is the purpose of having anything higher than 3600, would this not cause stuff to be out of sync?
     
  8. Joxeon

    Soldato

    Joined: 15 Oct 2019

    Posts: 7,482

    Location: Uk

    Some might be able to run FCLK at 1900~2000 so there would be some extra performance from running ram at 3800-4000 but realistically outside of benchmarks your probably not going to notice it and 3600 is still the sweet spot for most people.

    That said you don't need to buy 4000mhz ram to get 4000mhz, I've had my cheap 3200mhz kit up to 4400mhz and so long as you don't mind a bit of overclocking then you can save quite a bit of cash and still enjoy the big numbers.
     
    Last edited: 11 Feb 2021
  9. Wang

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 4 Apr 2004

    Posts: 1,502

    Location: Manchester

    As Joxeon has said, there is a fair chance you can increase your fclk to 1900 or possibly even 2000 (i believe the 5000 chips are more likely to run higher? may be wrong). I only bought this 4000 ram because it was a reasonable (relative to todays crazy prices) cost and seemed to have excellent timings. I had it running at 3800 C16 (1900fclk) on day one and yesterday I reduced that to 3600 14-15-15-36 (1800fclk) with zero issues so far. This is also on a 5800x & MSI Tomahawk Max combination.
     
  10. jubei

    Mobster

    Joined: 3 Apr 2003

    Posts: 2,928

    Thanks for the info guys, that is actually the chip and mobo combo i have in my basket which makes this ram a good contender. Though i guess 32gb of this is gonna be just over 300 so i might well just get the 8pack 3600 c16 for 279
     
  11. opethdisciple

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 May 2010

    Posts: 21,505

    Location: London

    Good find. And thats 4000MHz 16 16 16 36 at 1.35v too.

    I know they have a Ryzen tuned version but I am always wary of crucial ram with Ryzen due to historical issues back on my 1700.
     
  12. Jay343434

    Gangster

    Joined: 4 Oct 2017

    Posts: 236

    Wow.

    I spent over the odds for 32Gb worth of G-Skill CL14 ram (£270 for 16gb so over £500 lol)

    I've seen these online for £160! so 32GB is only £320.

    The retailer I used has a very generous returns policy so I'm tempted to return them and replace with these.

    edit: further searching seems there's only really one retailer selling these in the UK currently.

    Exactly. That's why it seems too good to be true. I know it is true as someone here confirmed it. But I can't understand why it's so cheap and they've not even used it in their flagship ram.
     
    Last edited: 11 Feb 2021
  13. opethdisciple

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 May 2010

    Posts: 21,505

    Location: London

    Well these are sold as 2 x 8Gb sticks. Trying to get these to run as 4 banks of 8Gb might require some tweaking.
     
  14. GregI

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 10 Dec 2007

    Posts: 1,439

    Tbh the price only seems reasonable now because of the current state of the RAM market. Example: In I think it was July 2020 the 16GB 3600C14 Ripped RAM was £100 on offer. You could have theoretically had 32GB for £200. Now compare that to the Corsair price and it makes sense why Corsair is asking this premium. Corsair just basically haven't really added the covid tax.

    But yeah if anyone else is just starting out your Ryzen journey like jubei is, the memory discussed here is for people who want to tinker with fabric clocks and memory frequencies both higher and lower (actually I wonder what Intel ocing would be like.... drool). I definitely would not recommend these for set and forget as that is what a 3,600 kit is for.
     
  15. GregI

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 10 Dec 2007

    Posts: 1,439

    I think I might have just found an even more insane 3,600 bin. Kinda hard to get as not in UK and not a brand I know much about but: ND4U0836144BRADE

    3600 14-14-14-34 at 1.40v. Not a ridiculous price either.
     
  16. opethdisciple

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 May 2010

    Posts: 21,505

    Location: London

    By the way the ram in the OP is 1.35v not 1.4v from what I can see on the net.
     
  17. Wang

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 4 Apr 2004

    Posts: 1,502

    Location: Manchester

    I have these. The XMP profile is 1.4 volts.
     
  18. opethdisciple

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 May 2010

    Posts: 21,505

    Location: London

    The AMD variety?

    If it's 1.4v it's 1.4v, but when I do a Google search for these and click the first major retailer in the list they say they are 1.35v.

    Maybe they've made a mistake.
     
  19. Wang

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 4 Apr 2004

    Posts: 1,502

    Location: Manchester

    Hi.

    yeah, I got the AMD "tuned" variety. It states 1.40 on the box and enabling the XMP profile in bios switches it to 1.40 volts.

    I bought them from the retailer you are probably looking at, and it is indeed listed as 1.35 volts but I can assure you the box and the profile are 1.40
     
  20. nshire

    Hitman

    Joined: 10 Mar 2005

    Posts: 696

    Location: Taunton

    I just bought some of the same AMD tuned kit looking forward to having some decent RAM kit