1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do I need thermal paste?

Discussion in 'OcUK Full Systems & Bundles' started by OoJoeyoO, Jan 4, 2019.

  1. OoJoeyoO

    Associate

    Joined: Jan 4, 2019

    Posts: 3

    I have just bought a new bundle and am putting together but there is no thermal paste. I don't even know if I need it as there is a weird grey bit on the connection. ? Should I use paste? Should it be in the box? Help please.

    Thanks
     
  2. x-st

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 30, 2016

    Posts: 1,253

    Wasn't there any paste included with your CPU cooler?
     
  3. Jokester

    Don

    Joined: Aug 7, 2003

    Posts: 37,708

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    It sounds like there is pre-applied to the bottom of the cooler?
     
  4. andicole0

    Soldato

    Joined: Sep 12, 2005

    Posts: 5,739

    Location: Robertsbridge

    I suspect that will be the 'weird grey bit on the connector'.
    Andi.
     
  5. OoJoeyoO

    Associate

    Joined: Jan 4, 2019

    Posts: 3

    Thanks. That's what I thought. Just wondered if there had been some super conductive material invented for it
     
  6. ilc72

    Gangster

    Joined: Mar 19, 2014

    Posts: 373

    Generally it’s recommended to replace the pre-applied Thermal Paste on Coolers as you don’t know how long it’s been around, get some Arctic Silver 5 or Kryonaut Hydronaut or something similar.
     
  7. lee32uk

    Underboss

    Joined: Nov 9, 2005

    Posts: 9,174

    Location: manchester,uk

    Assuming it hasn't been sat on a shelf for 10+ years then I don't see the need to replace the stock paste as it will be fine.
     
  8. ilc72

    Gangster

    Joined: Mar 19, 2014

    Posts: 373

    It very much depends on the Cooler, not all manufacturers are created equally! If it was a Corsair AIO then I wouldn’t bother, but with other manufacturers your mileage may vary.
     
  9. freddie64

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Mar 22, 2008

    Posts: 2,389

  10. lee32uk

    Underboss

    Joined: Nov 9, 2005

    Posts: 9,174

    Location: manchester,uk


    You have good paste with the majority rather than the minority, unless you are buying some unknown brand. Corsair are not anything special compared to other main players.

    Anything from the likes of Noctua, BeQuiet, Arctic, Alpenfohn, Alphacool, NZXT etc will be perfectly fine with the stock paste. Actually Noctua include the NT-H1 linked above with their coolers.


    If you were overclocking and wanted the lowest temps then something like the Thermal Grizzly above would be a good shout. Looking at the initial post it doesn't seem like the op is going to be overclocking, so unless he has managed to ruin the pre-applied paste then he will be fine. No real need to spend an extra £8 for something he doesn't need.
     
  11. Shaddow1086

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 28, 2011

    Posts: 102

    Location: Stratford-upon-Avon

    If your unsure, best to just get some thermal paste. Would hate to ruin an expensive bit of kit because of £10 worth of thermal paste.
     
  12. Jokester

    Don

    Joined: Aug 7, 2003

    Posts: 37,708

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    Able to take a pic of the bottom of the cooler?

    Personally, if you're not overclocking, removing the existing paste to add something else isn't worth it.
     
  13. ilc72

    Gangster

    Joined: Mar 19, 2014

    Posts: 373

    Surely that depends on the CPU, the way some motherboard manufacturers have implemented Precision Boost Overdrive on Ryzen the TDP of the processor can be easily exceeded and fed too much voltage. Also a 9900K can get toasty at stock let alone overclocked.