1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do you still disconnect other drives when installing windows?

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by sgoaty, 14 Oct 2021.

  1. Mcnumpty2323

    Mobster

    Joined: 21 Dec 2019

    Posts: 4,087

    Location: Planet Thanet

    It's mainly done to avoid boot record issues
    Example 1 drive fails and your pc wont boot because it's looking for that drive
    Had that happen plenty times as can't simply
    Turn off nvme drives as mentioned
    Not because of formatting the wrong drive during setup
    Though no doubt there's been people do that too
     
  2. Mcnumpty2323

    Mobster

    Joined: 21 Dec 2019

    Posts: 4,087

    Location: Planet Thanet

    Individual nvme m2 ports?
    Sata ports usually you can but not had a motherboard
    I can do nvme m2 ports
    If yours allows those that would be useful
     
  3. andy_mk3

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Oct 2009

    Posts: 11,550

    Location: Spalding, Lincs

    I used to up until around W7. Don't bother any more, just triple check which drive I format :)
     
  4. this_is_gav

    Soldato

    Joined: 17 Oct 2005

    Posts: 5,978

    Location: Northumberland

    I only have one M2 port. I can't comment on other boards obviously.
     
  5. smogsy

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 9 Dec 2006

    Posts: 8,665

    Location: @ManCave

    Boot record issues was fixed like 5 years ago.
    It was an issue in windows 7 but never an issue with W10.

    as long remove all the partitions so only 1 item for
    Drive 0:

    Remains then boot record will be created on the right drive.. drive 0.
    If you don't clear up the extra partitions before install/reinstall then it will use other drives for boot records

    So as an ex MVP this feature is working as intended, just seems no one understands how it works..

    Either way you do not need to disconnect drives anymore.
     
  6. Mcnumpty2323

    Mobster

    Joined: 21 Dec 2019

    Posts: 4,087

    Location: Planet Thanet

    Not sure if it's because I have multiple drives with windows installed
    Not just 1 and the others as data/storage
    But still seems to be an issue for me :(
     
  7. malachi

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Jun 2006

    Posts: 10,919

    Location: Not here

    I disable the drives in the bios, Windows can still have a werid habit putting the bootloader which isn't the primary drive.
     
  8. Terminal_Boy

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 13 Apr 2013

    Posts: 9,861

    Location: La France

    No, my fault in not triple checking which drive it was going to format.
     
  9. Drizmod

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Mar 2006

    Posts: 2,366

    Location: Birmingham, UK

    Ever since I got the TLDR missing error after a secondary drive failure I always have installed with just the install drive. I know its not required any more but you built habits.
     
  10. lsg1r

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Jan 2007

    Posts: 3,693

    Location: King's Lynn

    Yes, still do due to the way I have my drives setup, user folders/documents etc are on a different drive to the OS/programs.
    Once windows is installed I just 'reattach' the relevant user folders to the other drive.

    Might be a little different when I upgrade and get nvme etc but for now with good old sata based drives I'm sticking with what works lol
     
  11. Blackjack Davy

    Soldato

    Joined: 16 Aug 2009

    Posts: 5,802

    I unplug them its a simple click the release on the SATA cable. Removes any possibility of anything going wrong and sometimes the installers options can be confusing. Backup drives data is too important to risk!
     
  12. Mcnumpty2323

    Mobster

    Joined: 21 Dec 2019

    Posts: 4,087

    Location: Planet Thanet

    So yeah my memory wasn't wrong for a change
    Even with windows 10 or 11
    It's still possible to make your boot record wonky
    If don't disconnect drives

    Just to make it clear I have multiple drives with windows installed
    Not just one and the rest are storage

    Did it to myself yesterday
    Installed Windows 11 new preview
    Totally cleared the partitions as mentioned earlier on target drive
    Ended up missing 1 drive/operating system
    Luckily it was simple enough to add the entry
    Using easybcd
    So maybe I am doing it wrong or maybe not
    But it's definitely a possibility it can happen
     
  13. smogsy

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 9 Dec 2006

    Posts: 8,665

    Location: @ManCave

    most people dont have multiple windows targets on 1 pc ;)

    to fix that you would have the remove partitions from both disks then reinstall the bot manager separately on both drives so they are locked to their target partitions
     
  14. Mcnumpty2323

    Mobster

    Joined: 21 Dec 2019

    Posts: 4,087

    Location: Planet Thanet

    Guess I am not most people :)
    that's what they must mean
    By I am special :cry::cry:
     
  15. cee-S-dee

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 5 Dec 2002

    Posts: 1,546

    Location: The 80's

    You could use diskpart to clean the disk you want to use before installing. Disk should then show up as a unpartitioned in the disk selection on the installation wizard.
     
  16. willhub

    Capodecina

    Joined: 3 Jan 2006

    Posts: 24,024

    Location: Chadderton, Oldham

    No, I just make sure I format the correct drive.
     
  17. melmac

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 19 Dec 2010

    Posts: 9,981

    no, never have.