1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Does mixing single rank and dual rank matter?

Discussion in 'Memory' started by ExoMale, Oct 25, 2018.

  1. ExoMale

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 9, 2016

    Posts: 2,875

    Location: Gloucestershire

    a brief read online it suggests there not too much of a difference apart from single rank can be accessed faster, but does it really matter especially if it’s same model?


    Basically my ballistic 2400 memory are both single channel 4gb single rank and I was thinking of getting a single 2400 8gb stick to make it 12gb, but for a dual rank 2400 it’s like £63 or so where as the single rank is £80ish which I can’t justify, so would be a mix in my case.
     
  2. Vexr

    Associate

    Joined: Oct 15, 2018

    Posts: 83

    I've been running a matched pair of 4 GB DDR3 dual sticks with one different branded 4 GB single stick for years without any problems. These were in single channel mode until just today, but now just enabled dual channel in Flex mode to take advantage of the matched pair. Might be too early to tell if that brings up any problems, but have put it through a few benchmarks and it's all solid so far.
     
  3. Meaker

    Mobster

    Joined: May 19, 2004

    Posts: 3,212

    No, it should work seamlessly.
     
  4. ExoMale

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 9, 2016

    Posts: 2,875

    Location: Gloucestershire

    hanks for replies.

    I’ve run mix ram in the past, but was never aware of this ‘single & dual rank’ on them, I misunderstood it as single & dual channel lol.

    Well the ram would be from the same family, timings, speed, just obviously it will have a slightly different product code and will say single rank and with a readup on single being faster I wasn’t sure if there be an impact, so that’s good to know there won’t be, may just order another 4gb then :cool:
     
  5. Silent_Scone

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 5, 2011

    Posts: 12,008

    Location: Surrey

    Depends on the frequency, timings and level of guardband put in place by the memory vendor. If they're a conservative bin, then shouldn't be a problem.