Dual WAN Router

Soldato
The ADSL where I live tops out at 15mb so I've been using Smarty 4G for a few months which has been great but I can't play any more online games with a 150ms ping!

I realised that my Asus RT-86U has dual WAN ability but it seems to be a bit flakey. I have it setup so everything in the house uses the 4G connection, and only specific IPs use the ADSL.

It works great for the 2 machines that are on the ADSL but the but devices on the 4G seems to have intermitent problems that weren't there when I was just running the 4G…so I'm guessing it's an issue with the router.

If I try to download a large file it always fails as the transfer seems to cut out for a second or two during the download. I've also noticed that some http requests seem to hang for a few seconds as if the router is deciding what to do with the request.

Can anyone recommend a dual WAN router, even one without wifi as I'm going to go down the mesh route for that at some point (Netgear Orbi or similar) so I'm not too fussed about wifi performance.

Associate
I guess that you have some sort of USB modem or dongle for the 4G. Is it on the supported list for ASUS? Is your router on the latest firmware?

Soldato
OP
Draytek are a good off the shelf option - they support usb modems, as well as having some specific models that directly accept sim card e.g. 2862ln

I’ll take a look at Draytek thanks. I need to to keep the 4G router separate from the main router as the signal for 4G is poor unless on a specific room. So the 4G router lives in the office and is hardwired through the house to a media cupboard where the Asus router lives.

Soldato
I’m using a Huawei B818 router with the wifi disabled and it wired to Port 1 on the Asus. The ADDL is wired in to the WAN port.

Another thing to consider is a possible double NAT issue if the Huawei router is still functioning as a router. Is there a modem only mode or bridge mode so the Asus can handle the connection instead?

Soldato