• Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

DVI to HDMI for LCD TV quality and questions.

Soldato
Joined
5 Feb 2006
Posts
3,386
Location
15,000ft.
Ok from my sig you can see my specs. I'm going to uni soon so can't take a big TV with me so I'm going to get the Panasonic TX23LXD60 LCD TV.

Now the problem is that it doesn't have a DVI/VGA connection.
I have seen about the web these DVI to HDMI cables.

Now my question is; Will I loose quality or have any problems (e.g ghosting, washed-out clours) by connecting the DVi to HDMI cable to my TV from my X1900XTX as long as I have the fgraphics card set to 720P output.

Has anyone tried this?

Thanks in advance.



Edit - perhaps this is in the wrong forum, maybe it should be in monitors, I don't know.
 
Last edited:
Soldato
OP
Joined
5 Feb 2006
Posts
3,386
Location
15,000ft.
glen8 said:
Yep, I have a DVI > HDMI lead connecting my X1900XT to my LCD TV

It's in 1920x1080 1:1 with absolutely no problems. It's as good as my Dell 20" TFT in terms of quality

Thank you, sir.

1080P LCD TV? Nice.
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
5 Feb 2006
Posts
3,386
Location
15,000ft.
ugly ferret said:
It will work with the hdmi but you'll have to use 1280x720 which will have to be scaled so you won't get 1:1 pixel mapping, so it won't look ideal.

Can't you get one with a vga input that accepts the native res, like the sony s series or the latest samsungs.

Scaled to what? The LCD screen is 1366 x 768 pixels. Why can't I have that resolution?
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
5 Feb 2006
Posts
3,386
Location
15,000ft.
ugly ferret said:
Scaled to the native res of course. :) You can't have the native res because hdmi is designed for hdtv signals not pc signals. They can only take 1280x720@60hz (720p) or 1920x1080@30hz (1080i). The only exception is some LG tv's which can take the full range of pc reses over hdmi.



Errrrr .... the dell 2407WFP? :p

My graphics card has HDTV settings in CCC, 720p?
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
5 Feb 2006
Posts
3,386
Location
15,000ft.
Ok then, what else other than the panasonic could I use?

I need an LCD TV 20"-24" that has pc input as well as componant input for an x360, that has great specs for about £600.

Oh it also has to have a 'fast' (no blocky effect) DVB tuner built in, can't be doing with those crap freeview boxes.
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
5 Feb 2006
Posts
3,386
Location
15,000ft.
ugly ferret said:
I don't get it then, why do you want such a small tv with such a high res? You won't be able to see any difference between 720p and 1080p at normal tv viewing distances, only if you sit right in front of it like you would with a monitor, in which case why not just get a monitor and a tv card for your pc.

They're never going to make 1920x1080 tv's less than 37 inch because there isn't any demand for them in the tv market. Some people say 37 inch is too small for 1080p to see any real benefit.



They will have freeview models and non freeview models, just double check the specs when you buy it.

Personally I don't rate the samsungs at all, I think the freeview picture is very blocky and HD looks very noisey compared to other sets. But as said already, they've had very good reviews so I suppose it's a matter of personal taste. You're best off going to a shop and seeing them in action for yourself and deciding which picture quality you like the best. Double check here to see if it can support native res over vga, though I'll give you a list of ones that do and don't:

Support 1360x768 over vga -

Sony s2010/s2030 series
LG LC2 (over hdmi too)
Samsung R74 series/R41 series
JVC DX7 series
Philips TV's with DVI input
Dell TV's
Older toshiba sets

Support only 1024x768 over vga -

Sharp tv's
Philips tv's without DVI input
Toshiba WL66/WLT66

These are all the ones that I know for certain, if a TV's not listed then it may or may not support native res over vga.

That narrow it down then. I was looking at tosh but if it can't be at native then it is out.

So looks like the samung r73 or r74.

Do you know of a master list or is this just you experimenting?

I'm stuck now.

Are you definately sure that the panasonic will not display native over hdmi.

Also what difference will I see with vga over dvi? I have the samsung synmaster 930bf at the mo via DVI and the colours are great. Will VGA be much worse?

Sorry for all the questions.
 
Last edited:
Soldato
OP
Joined
5 Feb 2006
Posts
3,386
Location
15,000ft.
ugly ferret said:
I'm pretty sure. I've just been looking at the maual and it says "the hdmi input terminal is not designed to be used with computers" and also "The HDMI IN terminal can only be used with 480i, 480p, 576i, 576p, 720p or 1080i picture signals". So that pretty much confirms it.

What about the sony and the LG? Have a look at them, they're pretty good. The LG especially as it can do 1360x768 over hdmi as well as vga. The LG is very good with HD pictures as well, I think in curreys and comet superstores they usually have them displaying HD material and it looks amazing. I've seen the 26 inch version for 465 pounds which is pretty good. There's a 23 inch LC1 version for 400 pounds as well but I'm not sure if it has the same specs and it's not much cheaper really.

Thanks mate. I'll look into the LG then, what was the model number again?

Also don't mind the price, 23" would be ideal.
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
5 Feb 2006
Posts
3,386
Location
15,000ft.
Ok here is a question. Say I did get a TV with only HDMI imput. If I connect my PC to it using a DVI to HDMI cable, could I damage it?

Thanks. BTW, I'm getting the panasonic 26LXD60 for £530 if you need specifics.
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
5 Feb 2006
Posts
3,386
Location
15,000ft.
fornowagain said:
Hurt it? No. The TMDS signals of DVI-D "are" essentially HDMI, apart from sound, HDCP and a few bandwidth issues. If it takes 720p and its PAL, feed it 1280 x 720 @ 50Hz over DVI and it will work, assuming it's not looking for HDCP. You might have a few overscan issues, but hey nothing's perfect.

Well my graphics card has 720p60 but also has 'custom HD'(?) settings. So I will play about with it when my TV arrives in 2 weeks.
 
Back
Top Bottom