1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

E6320 & E6420... :D

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Journey, 7 Apr 2007.

  1. phi1

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Oct 2006

    Posts: 1,428

    Location: Cambs/Florida

    They sound very good!
     
  2. cobxx

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Jun 2006

    Posts: 276

    I posted that review in the other 6420 thread a while back...the E6x20's look like we're in for a treat. The E6420 clock was using 1.6V though! Intel might be releasing them deliberatly with the opportunity for huge clocks (anyone remeber this with the old mobile bartons being released?). Just as everyone has settled down with their nice 3.2 clocks with their conroes, a new cheap chip has been released that can do 3.6 with ease, maybe even 3.8. Everyone is then gonna rush out and get the new chips! Great marketting if that is the case.
     
  3. FatRakoon

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 10,229

    Location: Behind you... Naked!

    Yeah, thats come to my mind too!

    Im holding off a tad cos I have only just splashed out on a 6600 and its not even in a system yet, and then I go and see these heathen chips are for sale!!!

    What I want to know though, is that when I got my E6300 ( My first C2D ) I was under the impression that it was a conroe right....

    They tell me its an allendale because its got 2MB Cache.

    Now, I hear all things like the Conroes with 2MB and the Allendales with 4MB... WTF???

    What is the difference then, between them?

    Its no longer the cache.

    What makes an allendale and allendale and a conroe a conroe?
     
  4. Journey

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 10,386

    Location: West Midlands

    Ok I'll keep this simple :-

    All Core 2 Duo's are created equal apart from the amount of L2 cache. So anything with 4MB in a Conroe and anything with 2MB is an Allendale.

    Therefore the new chips are full Conroe CPU's

    Simple enough for ya?
     
  5. supernova9

    Gangster

    Joined: 2 Apr 2007

    Posts: 291

    The difference is the Cache size and VT (Virtualization Technology). Conroe's have VT, Allendale's don't.

    For example, the 4300s are Allendales, as they lack VT support. The 6300s are Conroes with 1/2 the Cache locked out.

    My question to you all - should I buy a 4300 for £100 or a 6320 for £115? From Tom's hardware and other sites, the extra 2MB cache provides maybe 3.5% tops. Worth it?
     
  6. FatRakoon

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 10,229

    Location: Behind you... Naked!

    Well, No, its not.


    Its no longer got anythign at all to do with cache size.

    If thats the case, then what of the 4MB Allendales then?

    Proving you... And everything I thought... To be a lie. :confused: :confused:

    VT support?

    WTF does VT support actually do?
     
  7. NathanE

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 18,022

    Location: London & Singapore

    You couldn't be more wrong :)
     
  8. supernova9

    Gangster

    Joined: 2 Apr 2007

    Posts: 291


    Not a clue, but that's the difference (as best I know!) :D Actually, try this

    Edit: NathanE - very constructive. If he's obviously wrong, why not point out how, instead of smirking in your little internet superiority station? :)
     
    Last edited: 10 Apr 2007
  9. NathanE

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 18,022

    Location: London & Singapore

    Virtual machines... VMware, Virtual PC etc. It optimises how these virtual machines run and performance is greatly improved. In fact I was playing with Virtual PC 2007 the other week and it was just like using the host OS. It really was very fast. Without VT everything has a slight "lag" in a VM.
     
  10. NathanE

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 18,022

    Location: London & Singapore

    Bit OTT? It's just tiresome because time and again people are having to explain the whole Conroe/Allendale fiasco. You'd think after almost a year people would have caught on by now ;)

    Allendale are the E4xxx series. Also the 2MB E6300 and E6400 will be Allendale's in the future but it's up to Intel when that exactly happens. Basically all Allendale cores are fabricated from the get-go to be 2MB cache (and possibly have other impairments). In the past, 2MB cache Core 2 Duo's were still fabricated as Conroe's but simply had their cache downsized (maybe because some part of the cache turned out faulty but usually just because of market demands).

    In short, the difference between Allendale and Conroe is simply the way they are fabricated.
     
  11. Justintime

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 24 Jul 2006

    Posts: 8,856

    Location: Edmonton, London, UK

    edit - nevermind guess i gotta wait a bit longer, false order status :D

    To avoid confusion, the people i got the 6320 from said it was in despatch stage but sent an email after recanting. :(
     
    Last edited: 10 Apr 2007
  12. sargatanas

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 29 Feb 2004

    Posts: 1,922

    Location: fife, Scotland

    ALL E6XXX chips are Conroes, ALL of them. The codename Allendale was misused for the lower ones with only 2mb cache, but these ARE STILL CONROES, if you don't believe me, email Intel and ask.

    The E4XXX chips are the true Allendales.
     
  13. FatRakoon

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 10,229

    Location: Behind you... Naked!


    Spanking answer!!! :D

    Ok, its apparently got somethign to help out with Virtual Machines ( Oh right, that makes all the difference to 99.9% of the population )

    Have a look here at just how much this means to you ... i.e. not a jot.

    http://www.intel.com/technology/virtualization/index.htm

    Seriously though, I think we are starting to enter into a phaze where people know A from B and others know C from D and what we are about to find out, is that we are all going to be wrong.

    In laymans terms, or As far as the every-day joe is concerned... What is the difference in real world terms?

    I mean, I got a 6300 and just recently a 6600 and the 6600 I plan on keeping at stock.

    The thing is here, that at stock, the 6600 is a complete fart compared to the 6300. ( only been playing for a couple of hours though, and those have been while watching ManU v Roma ( No results just incase ))

    --

    In the real world, I seriously dont think it makes the slightest bit of difference what CPU we decide to go on?

    I got a 6300 and I got a 6600

    In the next couple of weeks, I am upgrading the kids PCs too! - I got a bundle of cheapie 478 Dual Core Mobos and I will be buying a 6320 to have a play with and if it makes me a happy man in the nasty mobos then I will get a couple more and sort the kids out, otherwise they will stay with their AMDs
     
  14. Journey

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 10,386

    Location: West Midlands

    So back to what I said. The only thing I missed out to keep things simple was the lack of VT.

    Conroe = 4MB L2 Cache inc VT
    Allendale = 2MB L2 Cache no VT

    Otherwise they are the SAME!

    So why the hell did I bother to keep it simple if people want to over complicate things for those that cannot undersand the difference already.
     
  15. supernova9

    Gangster

    Joined: 2 Apr 2007

    Posts: 291

    NathanE: Sorry if I was OTT, not my intention :) I didn't realise it was in the fabrication process. Thanks for the info.

    Anyway, back on topic......opinions on 6320 vs 4300? :)
     
  16. FatRakoon

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 10,229

    Location: Behind you... Naked!


    No, the question is, that you yourself say the Allendale =2MB

    But what about the 4MB allendales then?

    :D
     
  17. maGz

    Associate

    Joined: 11 Nov 2006

    Posts: 50

    is it worth the extra tenner to buy an e6420 over an e6400?
     
  18. Journey

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 10,386

    Location: West Midlands

    You missed my point entirley. The biggest difference is the cache and that is what most people associate the difference of say a 6300 to a 6600 other than clock speed, most people will never use VT and thus I did not feel the need to mention it.

    So if you ignore VT, as most people will.. then you have a conroe chip.

    You are getting over involved in something you could keep very simple, do you want 4MB or 2MB L2 cache do you really give a dog's droppings if it has VT?

    Why do people always feel the need to make things more difficult than they are :(

    And, it's not an extra tenner, prices I have are lower than the 6400's by about £3.
     
  19. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,852

    Location: Autonomy

    Well I hope they just dont need lots of vcore to clock like the 4300's


    As the 4mb cache is no biggy and would rather have my 6400 @3.8ghz than a 6420 @3.2ghz any day of the week.
     
  20. Big.Wayne

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Sep 2003

    Posts: 14,701

    Location: London

    e6300 and e6400 are Conroe-2MB

    The e6320 and e6420 both look interesting but if there not Conroe cores I don't think they will clock as well as the classic e6300/e6400. Look forward to some peoples results!
     
    Last edited: 11 Apr 2007