1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

** EPIC DISCOUNTS: RYZEN 3000 UPGRADE OR BUILD YOUR OWN RIG, BIG SAVINGS INSIDE!! **

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Gibbo, Jul 24, 2019.

  1. Zernath

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 22, 2019

    Posts: 832

    Location: East Anglia

    Doubtful. It would be a nice gesture, but I haven't seen many businesses do nice gestures these days. Bit sore about this to be honest, you expect price drops months later, but not a couple of weeks! :mad:
     
  2. psychas

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jun 12, 2007

    Posts: 8,693

    Location: Ireland

    i didn't even build mine its in the box lol , 20 quid of haribo please oh ram doped to 40 quid of haribos please
     
  3. Saltcreek

    Gangster

    Joined: Jun 24, 2019

    Posts: 123

    Location: Aberdeen

    Is there any reason not to get 3600 memory over the 3200 if I am planning to get a 3900x?

    Tempted for a new case but I am not sure what would be a good replacement for my HAF X.
     
  4. thenewoc

    Soldato

    Joined: Mar 9, 2012

    Posts: 5,875

    Location: West Sussex, England

    Have those Gigabyte x570 boards gone down?
     
  5. Zeeflyboy

    Hitman

    Joined: Jan 21, 2016

    Posts: 658

    some companies do - I bought a fancy new big fridge freezer from a big well known green retailer on sale, the next week it had dropped by another £80... sent them an email and they price matched it, refunding the difference.

    I believe they price match for 28 days after purchase (including their own prices).

    So it definitely can happen!
     
  6. matt1

    Mobster

    Joined: May 2, 2004

    Posts: 2,526

    Location: Nottingham

  7. Zernath

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 22, 2019

    Posts: 832

    Location: East Anglia

    Gibbo.... :D
     
  8. ~>Dg<~

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jun 1, 2006

    Posts: 32,372

    Location: Notts

  9. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: Dec 24, 2005

    Posts: 39,335

    Location: Autonomy

    If I’m reading that right the discussion is about the tomahawk?

    I’m using the MS pro Carbon without issue.
     
  10. ~>Dg<~

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jun 1, 2006

    Posts: 32,372

    Location: Notts

    its about amd 450 boards from msi
     
  11. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: Dec 24, 2005

    Posts: 39,335

    Location: Autonomy

    My mobo is working fine...
     
  12. ~>Dg<~

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jun 1, 2006

    Posts: 32,372

    Location: Notts

    yeah it will do. for now...
     
  13. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: Dec 24, 2005

    Posts: 39,335

    Location: Autonomy

    For now? Lol
     
  14. lnoton

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 14, 2009

    Posts: 3,675

    Location: Cheshire

    How much is the saving? Seems like just a few quid.
     
  15. tatts

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 8, 2005

    Posts: 1,700

    Location: Cumbria

    Just had a notification from DPD saying there has been a problem with my order and it wont be delivered today :(
     
  16. Harbz

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 598

    Location: West Midlands

    That didnt take long for the cpu's to be discounted! I think this is that last time I order something for launch. Wait a month or so next time. I still do the same things as I did with my old 1600 that I do on my new 3700X.
     
  17. Zernath

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 22, 2019

    Posts: 832

    Location: East Anglia

    Ditto. I never expected discounts this soon after launch, and feel a bit burned to be honest.
     
  18. humbug

    Caporegime

    Joined: Mar 17, 2012

    Posts: 33,820

    The problem with boards is the X570 are just too expensive for a lot of people, if you're spending £190 on a 3600 you're not spending £170 on a very basic bare-bones ugly board.

    To push the most expensive unneeded PCIe 4 Chip-Set first with much cheaper PCIe 3 B550 boards delayed for 7 / 8 months was a mistake, a lot of people are just not buying X570 and instead are keeping their older board's or buying those older boards new and having to contend with in some cases under developed BIOSes because vendors are reluctant to support Ryzen 3000 on older board's, they want you to buy the new ones.

    My Ryzen 3600 works perfectly on ASRock AB350 Pro 4, but it is on the first AGESA Matisse 1.0.0.1 BIOS with the later Matisse 1.0.0.3ABA no where in sight and no news on it.
     
  19. thenewoc

    Soldato

    Joined: Mar 9, 2012

    Posts: 5,875

    Location: West Sussex, England

    The other thing is whether investing so much in an x570 board is wise without knowing what AM5 socket plans there are. Presumably a commitment to Ryzen 3000 is with the understanding that Ryzen 4000 will require a new mobo with AM5?
     
  20. ljt

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 28, 2002

    Posts: 3,148

    Location: Birmingham, UK

    Have you dropped a line to Asrock support to see if there is a beta bios for you to try?

    There's ones for other boards available if you ask