1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Euro Truck Simulator 2 worthy of purchase

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by Tom01793, 23 Oct 2012.

  1. mattyfez

    Capodecina

    Joined: 12 Apr 2007

    Posts: 10,015

    Thinking of getting back into this after about 3 years off, but getting it all set up again seems a bit daunting... what are the currrent advice/ must haves?

    Ive got:
    • France
    • Scandinavia
    • Baltic
    • Italy
    • going east

    Iberia looks good -would want to use Promod and rusmap
     
  2. TangoEchoAlpha

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Jun 2016

    Posts: 1,200

    Location: UK

    @mattyfez - definitely worth getting the special transport and heavy cargoes DLC, IMO.
     
  3. mattyfez

    Capodecina

    Joined: 12 Apr 2007

    Posts: 10,015

    Thanks - yes already have those, forgot about them :)
    I was thinking more the map addons for compatability with promods and rusmap, assuming they are still the 2 big 3rd party map mods worth having still?
     
  4. mattyfez

    Capodecina

    Joined: 12 Apr 2007

    Posts: 10,015

    Just reintalled it and downloading promods now - is rusmap still worth having or is it not worth bothering with?
    Its remembered my account profile (steam version) so thats good, i'm not starting from scatch with no money or trucks :)
     
  5. Digital X

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 25 May 2013

    Posts: 9,921

    Location: Kent.

    Yeah Rusmap is still good. I have slimmed my maps down to Promods, Rusmap, and the Great Steppe now.

    https://promods.net/viewtopic.php?f=42&t=10186 Rusmap version 2.3.1 for 1.39.

    Load order for recommended maps: https://promods.net/viewtopic.php?f=42&t=29618 Southern Region does work on 1.39, but you will need Arayas's fix for it. I have it I can zip up if you cannot find it.

    Promods, Rusmap and Southern Region I would say are the big 3 now. EAA is very good as well (South America) there used to be a bus mod for it where you could pick up passengers and use busses but I have not seen that for years now.
     
  6. mattyfez

    Capodecina

    Joined: 12 Apr 2007

    Posts: 10,015

    NIce, thanks for the tip, I want to try and keep the mod list simple(hahaha!) this time round as I think last time I had so many mods installed it became unmanagable.

    I think I had great steppe before and rusmap, so once I'm happy promods is ok ill look at those.

    I think I had an Iceland map too, but cant remenber what it's called, or if it's still compatible, that was fun.
     
  7. mattyfez

    Capodecina

    Joined: 12 Apr 2007

    Posts: 10,015

    I really fancy grabbing the Iberia official DLC when its out, but i'm guessing that will break the current version of promods? (probably a rhetorical question, lol!)
     
  8. Digital X

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 25 May 2013

    Posts: 9,921

    Location: Kent.

    Promods needs updating to 1.40 anyway so will be a while before they are ready with that. That is when it's actually released, they won't update for betas.
     
  9. Vern1961

    Mobster

    Joined: 29 Mar 2007

    Posts: 4,237

    Location: Swindon UK

    Did they ever sort out the truck sounds? One of the recent updates completely broke it so your engine went from barely audible idle to screeching like a banshee with nothing in between.
     
  10. Spacedeck

    Mobster

    Joined: 14 Sep 2007

    Posts: 3,198

    Location: West Yorkshire, England

    Do any of you do anything to add that extra touch to playing this game? I've recently started doing paperwork for the jobs I do. It adds more immersion, gives me a way to track what jobs I've done and for something that takes maybe a minute before starting a job, I enjoy it. I only fill it out once a trailer has been connected and disconnected, so it isn't like it even takes a lot of effort. I've posted an example sheet filled out below and a link to the Excel file if you wanted to have a look.

    The job number is just made up, I calculate price+distance and use that as a job number.
    Also due to WoT contracts using real time, I set it up as a full 24 hour in game for delivery (job no. 12850 was WoT job). If it went over that time though, I'd just extend it to 48 hour delivery slot.

    [​IMG]

    Link to spreadsheet
     
    Last edited: 21 Feb 2021
  11. VoG

    Soldato

    Joined: 20 Jan 2004

    Posts: 5,838

    Location: Nottingham

    Can any one who plays online explain some thing to me, ive been dabbling with online play for a couple of weeks now, & i've experimented with various axle, engine, gearbox configurations, yet i'm limited to 56 mph no matter what i do how ever, i've been passed by trucks clearly travelling a good 10 mph or more faster than that, what am i missing?, is there some magic combination i just haven't hit on yet despite having a pair of trucks with the most powerful engines in game ( 750 bhp Volvo & 730 bhp Scania ) because i'de love to know as it's getting downright depressing.
     
  12. Andybtsn

    Don

    Joined: 23 Oct 2005

    Posts: 42,206

    Location: North Yorkshire

    Isn’t it because you have the speed limiter ticked in options?
     
  13. VoG

    Soldato

    Joined: 20 Jan 2004

    Posts: 5,838

    Location: Nottingham

    Ticked or unticked makes no difference online, only makes a difference in offline play.
     
  14. Josh

    Capodecina

    Joined: 23 Oct 2013

    Posts: 10,546

    Location: Surrey

    Playing through the latest beta, interior lights are very dim but the sunsets/rises look nice.

    Missing the mods though so may have revert and get some mods downloaded.
     
  15. Spacedeck

    Mobster

    Joined: 14 Sep 2007

    Posts: 3,198

    Location: West Yorkshire, England

    I hope you started a new profile for beta? If you used a profile already created, you can't revert back to previous versions without losing the progress you made in the beta.
     
  16. Digital X

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 25 May 2013

    Posts: 9,921

    Location: Kent.

    I have a nice lot of maps on the 1.40 open beta, some truck/trailers have the "blocky" looking lights, but it's not big issue. Looks amazing at sunset.
     
  17. Josh

    Capodecina

    Joined: 23 Oct 2013

    Posts: 10,546

    Location: Surrey

    Yeah, saw the warning on here and followed it.
     
  18. Spacedeck

    Mobster

    Joined: 14 Sep 2007

    Posts: 3,198

    Location: West Yorkshire, England

    I thought all mods would be incompatible? Which maps work?
     
  19. Digital X

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 25 May 2013

    Posts: 9,921

    Location: Kent.

    Yeah my mistake I'm on 1.39 for ETS2.

    It's American Truck Simulator I am running on 1.40 with map mods.
     
  20. ic1male

    Caporegime

    Joined: 28 Oct 2003

    Posts: 29,437

    Location: Westchestershire

    Spain and Portugal are available tomorrow!

    I’ve always wanted to visit Spain and this will have to do for now.