Explain PCP to me! Got a V4S quote today.

Soldato
Popped along to Ducati to enquire about a Panigale V4S today.

Financial details
£10K trade in for my '67 959 Panigale which has 1,400 miles on the clock + underslung Akra exhausts. I bought it outright for £15K 13 months ago.

Cash price: £23K (said he's knock of £1K as I said the part-ex seemed low).
Deposit: £9.2K (maximum permitted / 40%)
Credit: £13.8K
Hire Purchase charges: £2.8K
Total Payable: £25.7K
FINAL REPAYMENT: £13.2K

So after all that my question! In 3 years time, given I will be doing < 2,000 miles per year I assume a V4S Panigale will be worth more than £13.2K (even the dealer said that). But what would that mean to me? Do I get anything back? Sorry - total noob to this. I suppose it can transfer as a deposit on a new bike and just keep the repayments going?

I'm battling with the idea but I love the V4. To give up an expensive bike for a PCP deal seems nuts. But i guess that's how things work if you don't have the $$$ up front! :o:(

Soldato
I'm out at a wedding and somewhat ***** so I'd have to check the numbers in the morning.

Generally those PCP deals are ******** Vs a cheaper personal loan.

But read paragraph 1.

Last edited by a moderator:
Soldato
So... you give up a 2017 959 Panigale worth £10k (trade in), get a Panigale V4S for which you pay £2.8k over the next three years at which point you have nothing other than hope that depreciation has left you with something.

I guess that works for some, but not for me.

Soldato
OP
To be honest I've been sat here thinking about it this evening and I'd have to be mad to go for this. Not just the financials, but as I said in my OP it's giving up a bike I own outright for something I might have to give back in three years and end up with nothing. So as tempting as the V4 is, I think I'm done considering it. If things change in a few years time and I've built up the funds, maybe then. But for now the 959 and my trusted YBR125 :) will do for now.