1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Far Cry 6

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by Poneros, 10 Jul 2020.

  1. Mobius 1

    Capodecina

    Joined: 29 Oct 2005

    Posts: 14,036

    Beta ? Come on man. I’ve played for many hours and haven’t had any bugs yet.

    nothing like the cyberpunk fiasco. Now that was a beta.
     
  2. Woodsta888

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 24 Sep 2013

    Posts: 2,331

    Location: Exmouth, Devon

    Nah 2077 was Alpha :D, so much so they couldn't even release the PS5 console version.

    PC - no better graphics than 5 after a HD texture pack taking high amounts of VRAM to run it. The game without the texture pack is no better than FC1. SO sounds like it needs optimizing. Otherwise to play this game at 4k you need a 16GB card for it to look no better than FC5. Either give me amazing textures and great advancement over FC5 to help me see the 16GB requirement of VRAM - or fix the game.
     
  3. VortexA1

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 Nov 2006

    Posts: 2,409

    Location: Shoeburyness,England

  4. Mobius 1

    Capodecina

    Joined: 29 Oct 2005

    Posts: 14,036

    Indeed. I got suckered into buying it for PS4. Got a refund though. :) bought ghost of Tsushima for ps5 instead with the refund.

    anyhoo, I still think FC6 is a good game, and have had fun exploring it so far !
     
  5. Iamzod

    Mobster

    Joined: 7 Dec 2002

    Posts: 3,677

    Location: UK

    Does anyone else think the weapon balance in the game is absolute bobbins? I'm finding that the only useful weapons are the M16S and a 9mm pistol, both of which i've silenced.

    I basically wander around headshotting guys, however when I want to play more of an action role, none of the weapons are any good.

    For example, the Sniper rifle I have takes 3 headshots to take down a guard? 3 Head Shots! WTF?

    The sub machine guns are pointless, point blank range, some guys can take a full clip from an MP5, the 9mm pistol you find on the beach, one shot to the face?
     
  6. Mobius 1

    Capodecina

    Joined: 29 Oct 2005

    Posts: 14,036

    I put armour penetrating bullets on all guns regardless. I found that works for any enemy regardless. Don’t use soft target rounds. They’re useless.

    you’ll eventually come across the bow and compound bow which are awesome. I also found the SVD last night. Semi auto sniper is so overkill :D I don’t use smgs unless I run out of ammo.edit. The Mac 10 is fun to use even though the power of it is quite abysmal. It sounds awesome though.
     
  7. Kronos

    Catwalker

    Joined: 11 Nov 2009

    Posts: 4,457

    Location: Edinburgh

    Yep I agree most weapons are pants.
    Trying to figure out the point of the incendiary rounds as they do so little damage.
    I having a lot of trouble getting into this game.
     
  8. gpuerrilla

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Jul 2005

    Posts: 14,421

    Location: N.Ireland

    I think they want to force you to use the mods, but it turns out armour piercing is a must really and your correct the sniper rifle and sub-machines offer no value (at least early on). Once you get the special weapons the regular ones become pointless too.

    I guess if you want a challenge dont use the awesome ones in the chests. I was going to get uber ones recommended on tuber covered vids then I caught myself on as one shotting everything will get boring very quick.

    Going to stick to taking my time and playing in small bursts to keep enjoying it.
     
  9. JonRGV250

    Gangster

    Joined: 31 Aug 2021

    Posts: 109

    Location: Suffolk

    Am I doing something wrong here, or is the game just absolutely terrible?
    I seemed have tried ALL the settings and these are the graphics that I get, and that's when it running at 60-70 fps and not jumping wildly all over the place and freezing.
    It's not as if I'm running it on a potato (3080, 5800x & 32GB RAM)..

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  10. Dirk Diggler

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Jan 2013

    Posts: 17,552

    I think there's an issue with Nvidia cards and textures.
     
  11. gpuerrilla

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Jul 2005

    Posts: 14,421

    Location: N.Ireland

    Not noticed these issues yet, will keep eye out. Only problem I have is on the cut scene movies the weird line tear runs through the screen highly annoying.
     
  12. DanF

    Mobster

    Joined: 16 Feb 2004

    Posts: 3,996

    Location: London

    Just been noodling around in the game, about 35% done by stats. Half my kills are headshots so far with favourite weapons

    - bow
    - shotgun with extra aim damage + extra body damage
    - MG for helicopter kills
    - silenced 1911 pistol

    A lot of the weapons just feel like cheat mode really, the AI isn't that good so snipers are OP
     
  13. Paul_cz

    Mobster

    Joined: 1 Feb 2009

    Posts: 2,669

    That is not normal, I get beautiful sharp textures and great graphics on my end.
    HD textures ON, RT OFF, everything ultra, shadows high, CAS sharpening on, 2880x1620, FSR off.
    60fps stable on RTX 2080Ti and Ryzen 2700X. Using the latest drivers via GF Experience.


     
  14. JonRGV250

    Gangster

    Joined: 31 Aug 2021

    Posts: 109

    Location: Suffolk

    I did dl the latest drivers after my first post, but turned off DXR reflections and shadows, and turned on CAS.
    Everything else is set to ultra with HD textures on, in 3840x2160, and now its running perfectly and at 90+ FPS..
    GPU is running cooler as well :)

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: 16 Oct 2021
  15. ne0

    Gangster

    Joined: 2 Feb 2018

    Posts: 494

    No probs on my system at all but I've seen up to 22gb of vram used with this game which is just stupid and surely unnecessary.

    The TAA is also horrendous and muddies the crap out of everything so I've resorted to using the in game resolution scaler + SMAA which gives a much clearer and more immersive image.
     
  16. Mobius 1

    Capodecina

    Joined: 29 Oct 2005

    Posts: 14,036

    Anyone found the little buggy/microlight ? :D it’s great Fun to zip about on, and with the press of a button your parachute comes out and you can fly with it. (Unfortunately you can still get shot down by AA sites)
     
  17. gpuerrilla

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Jul 2005

    Posts: 14,421

    Location: N.Ireland

    @JonRGV250 did you use the built in screen picture taker?
     
  18. Paul_cz

    Mobster

    Joined: 1 Feb 2009

    Posts: 2,669

    much romantic, wow

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  19. syks

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jan 2016

    Posts: 1,276

    Location: isle of wight

    So without reading the whole thread because its BIG and i cant be bothered lol is this a worthy buy? would people say its better or worse than farcry 4 and 5?

    Really want a new game but dont know what to buy

    Thanks
     
  20. gpuerrilla

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Jul 2005

    Posts: 14,421

    Location: N.Ireland

    My take on it is most games are not worth the original asking price, so this being £50 = no. Like most others really (CP, HZD).

    However you can use tokens if you have ubisoft account, and I could get it down to £40 if I bought it through their launcher/account.

    Then you have CD-keys sites which vary day to day but generally its about £41 as its so new but will drop over the weeks.

    Finally you can try MM where people will sell the game code if they bought a CPU/SSD and dont want the game, generally going for £30.

    For £30 the game is worth it IMO. Had quite a lot of fun so far and probably better because I have not played any of the previous versions so it doesn't feel like rinse/repeat, its totally new to me. If you have played 5,4,3 etc then its up to you.