1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Firefox has reset itself?!?!

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by AsaTDi, 28 Oct 2007.

  1. AsaTDi

    Gangster

    Joined: 25 Oct 2007

    Posts: 198

    Location: South Yorkshire

    Hey, just signed up so go easy on me :D

    OK, my PC crashed so i had to do a hard reboot........... I log into WindowsXP Home and load up Firefox to be greeted with the 'Import wizard' when you first install it.

    Canceled that and got further to find all my favorites and history have VANISHED!! :o

    Can anyone help me get them all back? Surely it auto backups up every now and again!??!

    Any advice greatly appreciated
     
  2. swinnie

    Mobster

    Joined: 30 Apr 2007

    Posts: 3,094

    Location: Kent

    Try going to Start > Run and type '%APPDATA%\Mozilla\Firefox' (WITHOUT THE QUOTES) then hit Enter/Return and see if there is a profile.

    Browse through to the Profiles folder and navigate to folders in there looking for a file called Bookmarks.

    Once found, open in Firefox and see if the links of your Bookmarks appear there.

    If they are there, go to Bookmarks > Organise Bookmarks > File > Import and navigate to the file path.

    Finding the file in the import wizard you need to point your wizard file browser to C:\Documents and Settings\USERNAME\Application Data\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\PROFILE FOLDER\bookmarks.html

    Hope this helps ;)

    Swinnie
     
    Last edited: 28 Oct 2007
  3. AsaTDi

    Gangster

    Joined: 25 Oct 2007

    Posts: 198

    Location: South Yorkshire

    You sir, are a STAR!! Thank you very much!! :) :):cool:
     
  4. swinnie

    Mobster

    Joined: 30 Apr 2007

    Posts: 3,094

    Location: Kent

    No problem AsaTDi.

    Glad I could help! :D
     
  5. tolien

    Caporegime

    Joined: 16 May 2003

    Posts: 25,368

    Location: ::1

    %APPDATA% works fine there too.
     
  6. swinnie

    Mobster

    Joined: 30 Apr 2007

    Posts: 3,094

    Location: Kent

    It was easier to explain the other method to him.

    If he didn't mention about going easy I would have just used the %APPDATA% example :p
     
  7. tolien

    Caporegime

    Joined: 16 May 2003

    Posts: 25,368

    Location: ::1


    If the bookmarks.html was intact that you could import it, there was nothing wrong - at most, Firefox had just started a new profile.
     
  8. InvaderGIR

    Capodecina

    Joined: 14 Jul 2005

    Posts: 17,615

    Location: Bristol

    Claimed...you can do that in any area of the forums right?

    I recently had to do this as I installed a new OS, but wanted my old bookmarks. There will also be a folder on the C: drive around where has been stated called 'backup' and it'll be dated. This means you don't have to export your bookmarks every now and then to keep them if anything goes wrong. You can just tell it to import from there. :)

    InvG
     
  9. tolien

    Caporegime

    Joined: 16 May 2003

    Posts: 25,368

    Location: ::1

    %APPDATA%\Mozilla\Firefox\Profile\[random letters and numbers].[profile name]\bookmarkbackups