First Gaming PC Help

Associate
After console gaming and looking enviously at all the games and deals I'm finally going for my own set up. I have no knowledge when it comes to building but any videos/links to help would be appreciated.

I have a budget of £1000 (I am willing to up it a wee bit more if it's more worthwhile - up to £200). The sort of games I'm looking to play will be stuff like The Witcher, Battlefield, Overwatch...etc on high settings. I already have a 1080p monitor and stuff like keyboard/mouse so I'm set in that department. I will be using the PC for work but nothing too major as I will primarily be using this for gaming.

I've tried to do my own research but I'm a bit bamboozled when looking at the variety of options. Thanks :)

Associate
Why don't you have a look at some OCUK pre-built systems in the 1000 pound range?
Since you're only playing at 1080P, an RX480/580 or GTX 1060 is the highest spec graphics card you should be looking at.

If you want to build your own have a look at some of Carey Holzman's videos on his own channel and on Newegg's channel on youtube.

Soldato
I've been looking at the pre-builts and the systems with a 1060 6GB graphics card are the ones I've been looking at the most. Would this one https://www.overclockers.co.uk/ocuk...0k-4.6ghz-geforce-gtx-1060-6gb-fs-1b6-og.html be good? :)

The price is very good right now. You can make modifications to the spec, so if you want to spend your full £1000, you could change the 8GB 2400MHz RAM to 16GB 3000/3200MHz, and get a better power supply. You don't have to worry as the system is covered for three years but with a better power supply it should last even longer.

For example, take this out:

My basket at Overclockers UK:

And stick this in:

The specifications don't say which GTX 1060 it brings, so that's something else you could check with them. Usually a video card with an aftermarket cooler is preferable to a reference/blower-style card.

Soldato