First Time Buyer Offer accepted

Sem

Sem

Soldato
So i'm a first time buyer and had my offer accepted so now the process begins..

I am new to all this and have done research but would like some opinions as while the estate agents have been great i do feel they are pressuring me into somethings without giving me time to think or decide myself

OK first issue is the solicitors and conveyancing
The EA automatically sent my details over to his preferred solicitor (the EA gets £150 for the referral)

i understand the conveyancing process is very important and the EA said they have been using them for 4 years so i have no doubt in his abilities but just want to know the average price people pay

The solicitor is charging £600 +VAT (£720) for the conveyancing + £120 for the SDLT1 form
Is £720 a good price in general? I'm not looking for a bargain basement service but then i don't want to be ripped off either

I don't plan to pay him £120 for the form as from what i have read you can complete it yourself

2nd issue is the mortgage & mortgage broker

The EA put me in touch with his preferred broker and I'm sure he will get a kickback from that as well
i met him and to be fair he was great he explained stuff and we went through my income detail etc and we found some good mortgages options

he charges £695 for his service but he said he will discount it for me to £400

i don't have any bad credit or any complications so should i just go to the bank direct i just don't see why i need to pay £400 or will the broker do something more i cant?

Thanks for any replies/advice

Soldato
Find your own solicitor and mortgage, ask friends and family who they have used. Solicitor does not need to be in the same area but it can help.
Take a walk up your local high street and drop in a couple of banks/building societies and solicitors. Use the info you have been given to provide comparisons.
Andi.

Soldato