1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Flickr bought out by smugmug

Discussion in 'Photography & Video' started by Luke, Apr 21, 2018.

1. Luke

Soldato

I received an email today from Flickr informing me of their takeover by smugmug. I've never heard of them so have no expectations of what they plan to do with the service under their ownership but it makes me concerned.
    I now need to investigate what export options I have in Flickr to bulk save my library with a view to maybe losing what I have.

I know it says nothing will change, but I've fallen foul of believing this in the past and would like to be prepared should the worst happen.

Anyone got any experience with smugmug?

2. strang3r

Hitman

I've been using Smugmug for a few years now to sell my work. They host my site and allows customers to purchase prints which are printed and sent out b Loxley Colour. I've had no issues with them in the past and wouldn't hesitate to recommend them.

3. Energize

Caporegime

Losing what you have?! You aren't seriously using Flickr as some form of cloud storage are you without having the photos on your own pc?

4. GiraffePencils

Mobster

I use Flickr as my offsite backup.
    Pictures are on my pc, also on my server under raid, but both those are at home

5. Russinating

Capodecina

Just use Google Drive. Not limited to photos and it's something inane like £1.59 a month for 100GB.

6. Energize

Caporegime

I prefer Onedrive myself, well integrated into windows and £4.50 a month for 1TB of storage and a 50GB exchange email account, 100GB is way too small for photos these days.

Though the OP should not be storing everything only in the cloud. He should have a local copy of the photos.

7. Mark_D

Gangster

Do Onedrive and Google Drive compress image files at all or is it lossless storage?

8. Energize

Caporegime