Freesat

Associate
OP
Joined
2 Mar 2011
Posts
105
So after about a month with this kit, it works pretty okay for what I wanted it for, i.e. you wanna have something playing on the big screen without having to actually _watch_ something, it's got you sorted. And if Gogglebox or something is on, you can pause it etc.

Humax box is pretty sluggish though, also that annoyance of not defaulting to a favourites or have an option to default to it is just bad design. As I said, at least you can drop all the channels from the master list you don't care about, which is okay as I don't care about all the miscellaneous SD +1 channels and the like. For someone who actually _watches_ telly it'd be more painful.
 
Soldato
Joined
16 Aug 2009
Posts
7,854
Hmm. So I can't reorder the channels? TV guide always goes to all channels and you have to pick favourites yourself? Not exactly the best PVR I've used..
Not on the Freesat EPG if you choose regular FTA satellite you can, sort of. I downloaded a piece of software that if you export the channel list you can edit it and re-import it. This is on a Sony TV with satellite tuner and very much unofficial software. Plug in a USB drive and you can record live TV not that I bother
 
Last edited:
Associate
Joined
4 Aug 2022
Posts
152
Location
Bristol
A broadband equivalent of a Freesat box with epg and recording ability. Why doesn’t such a device exist?
I'm hoping such a box may be released by someone to work with the new Freely service, but may be wishful thinking as I think generally the broadcasters want to force people onto their streaming platforms so that they can serve them unskippable ads. Maybe some third-party tinkerers will come up with something though.
 
Man of Honour
Joined
29 Mar 2003
Posts
56,909
Location
Stoke on Trent
A broadband equivalent of a Freesat box with epg and recording ability. Why doesn’t such a device exist?

I have a VU+ Uno4K that is plugged into broadband.
I'm able to record at least 8 channels at once.
I use software to create my own Freesat lists called Dreambox Edit.
We can access the box from any TV in the room using a Fire Stick.
You can add plugins to do almost anything.
It is linked to my NAS.

They've been around for many years.
 
Associate
Joined
4 Aug 2022
Posts
152
Location
Bristol
I have a VU+ Uno4K that is plugged into broadband.
I'm able to record at least 8 channels at once.
I use software to create my own Freesat lists called Dreambox Edit.
We can access the box from any TV in the room using a Fire Stick.
You can add plugins to do almost anything.
It is linked to my NAS.

They've been around for many years.
That's a Freeview recorder though isn't it? Rather than something that records from a stream over the internet. I have a similar setup with a HDHomeRun Pro, plugs into my local network and records from a Freeview aerial to my NAS and I can then watch via Plex on pretty much any streaming device, phone or tablet, at home or away.
 
Man of Honour
Joined
29 Mar 2003
Posts
56,909
Location
Stoke on Trent
That's a Freeview recorder though isn't it? Rather than something that records from a stream over the internet. I have a similar setup with a HDHomeRun Pro, plugs into my local network and records from a Freeview aerial to my NAS and I can then watch via Plex on pretty much any streaming device, phone or tablet, at home or away.


I have a satellite connected to it :) https://www.world-of-satellite.co.u...eivers/vu-plus/vu-plus-uno-4k-se-fbc-dvb-s-s2
Using plugins you can stream if you so wish, I have no need for it.
 
Associate
Joined
4 Aug 2022
Posts
152
Location
Bristol
I have a satellite connected to it :) https://www.world-of-satellite.co.u...eivers/vu-plus/vu-plus-uno-4k-se-fbc-dvb-s-s2
Using plugins you can stream if you so wish, I have no need for it.
Interesting, I have an old dish with a couple of cables coming out right next to my NAS, tempted to look at adding something like this alongside the HDHomeRun to get the slightly better range of channels (and more HD channnels) available on Freesat compared to Freeview, though remember when I looked before a lot of people seemed to think the Freesat devices were rather unreliable compared to the Freeview equivalents, with lots more hassle around EPG data and the like (certainly my experience of trying to use a PC based Freesat tuner to run a PVR was not great).
 
Man of Honour
Joined
29 Mar 2003
Posts
56,909
Location
Stoke on Trent
Interesting, I have an old dish with a couple of cables coming out right next to my NAS, tempted to look at adding something like this alongside the HDHomeRun to get the slightly better range of channels (and more HD channnels) available on Freesat compared to Freeview, though remember when I looked before a lot of people seemed to think the Freesat devices were rather unreliable compared to the Freeview equivalents, with lots more hassle around EPG data and the like (certainly my experience of trying to use a PC based Freesat tuner to run a PVR was not great).

I've been into satellite stuff since D2Mac in the 80s and I've had Freesat VU+ boxes for at least 15 years.
Gigablue is alsoi a decent make.
The Uno4K SE is a joy to use and setup, like I said above my wife who is 65 is the only one who programs it and she has zero problems.
Probably the unreliability is because there are loads of images (the software it runs on) that you can try and I know with this particular machine I had trouble with two images before I settled on the one I've been using since 2022, so with that model and the BH image I use it works great.
There is another thread where I took a video so I'll see if I can link it.
Found it, somebody was asking about the speed of channels but you can also see the EPG and other stuff.
It isn't a cheap setup but for me and the wife it is everything we want.

 
Last edited:
Associate
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
2,386
Location
Tinternet
I use mine for IPTV and Sat and use the Unicable LNB which is running a Willowbuild of Openvix.
They really are good boxes to use once they’re up and running and very stable. Wife uses is for Sat and recording and I use jedimaker for IPTV.
 
Man of Honour
Joined
29 Mar 2003
Posts
56,909
Location
Stoke on Trent
I use mine for IPTV and Sat and use the Unicable LNB which is running a Willowbuild of Openvix.
They really are good boxes to use once they’re up and running and very stable. Wife uses is for Sat and recording and I use jedimaker for IPTV.

Mine hated OpenVIX and it took me several months before I realised and the author realised, it was no good for my box so I've used BH for two years.
The author even tried to make me a version that was stable but it never worked right, the thing is two years on it could be brilliant now. If you like messing you can just save your working image, put a new one on, have a play and go back to your old image (obviously that was aimed at others who didn't know you can do that).
I did setup IPTV with JediMaker but I have no use for it on the box.
Which box have you got Barry?
 
Associate
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
2,386
Location
Tinternet
I’ve only used Vix to be honest, but I might have a go with multiboot and put a different image for a play. I think I can have four different ones on it.
Like I say though, wife uses it for sat and she’s chuffed. I was in the situation where our old humax freeview box was starting to show its age and there was no way I was paying for Sky (even though I had the dish) and all the reviews of the dedicated freesat boxes showed that they weren’t up to much.
So, after a bit of research I bought a Vu+4K UNO SE from world of satellite with a vix image pre installed. Wasn’t too sure on all the other makes but the VU boxes seemed to be a bit more premium than some of the others and it’s showed this - it’s been flawless. Really impressed with the sat community - there’s a lot of knowledge out there and people always want to help. Now I’m running this custom build with the FBC tuners and Unicable and it’s an impressive set up.
 
Man of Honour
Joined
29 Mar 2003
Posts
56,909
Location
Stoke on Trent
I've always had my stuff from WOS over at least the last 20 years and their forums are great.
Quite surprised your VIX is working OK for you on the same box but they may have sorted my issues out now, I had loads of problems back in 2020 including multiple freezes but the worst being removing all recorded content from my SSD :(
 
Back
Top Bottom