Giant bike frame size

Associate
I'm 5'8"ish and 29" inside leg. According to Giant's website, this places me in the realms of a small or medium sized frame. I'm sort of worried about the reach/top tube length of the smaller frame, but it still _is_ recommended as a "fit" for me on their website. I've been to 5 local and not so local stockists and none have had the small frame in stock so (inevitably?) the sales staff all except 1 tried to sell me on the medium frame, the exception dude insisted the small would be better for me than the medium. The medium frame's top tube is in contact with the jewels when I stand over it. Stumpy legs are go... The reach on the medium seemed ok, but I'm not an expert. I'd just like to see what the reach was like on a small so I could see if it was the right bike for me.

Apart from frame size, my other decision was trying to decide between the Giant Defy 2 (tiagra setup) or the Giant Defy 1 (105 setup with carbon seat stem, nicer looking welds but otherwise pretty similar).

I quite liked the light green colour of the Defy 1 , but the original red/white/black is still nicer than the silver with blue lettering of the Defy 2. Looks arent everything of course... :)

Any opinions? Bear in mind, where I live either of these nice bikes will probably be stolen within months, so insurance recommendations would be equally well received as well as the other advice. I wish I was kidding. :rolleyes:

The Defy 1 RRP is £999, and the Defy 2 RRP is £799. It's completely likely to get a 10% discount on either of course as standard at most of the bike shops around here, if you ask nicely.

http://www.shopgiant-bicycles.co.uk...green-silver--performance-road-bike.aspx#size

http://www.shopgiant-bicycles.co.uk/3195/products/2013-giant-defy-2-performance-road-bike.aspx

Last edited:
Associate