Gigabit Powerline HD : F5D4076UK

Soldato
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
21,158
Location
Cambridge, UK
Hi,

I thought I'd try some Belkin Gigabit Powerline HD:-

Belkin : Gigabit Powerline HD Starter Kit

What can I say but they are rubbish, no faster than my Devolo dLAN® 200 AVeasy powerline adapter, I struggle to get 50 Mbps (6.25 MBps) from one room to another even when the adapter claims I have a good connection above 200Mbps!

There is no software, no configuration, no way to see what is going on and quite frankly terrible.

Maybe other people will get better results, even with two plugs in the same room just for testing purposes the best I get is 200 Mbps (25MBps).

Devolo dLAN® 200 AVeasy

iperf -c 192.168.2.105 -l 64k -t 15 -i 5 -r

------------------------------------------------------------
Server listening on TCP port 5001
TCP window size: 8.00 KByte (default)
------------------------------------------------------------
------------------------------------------------------------
Client connecting to 192.168.2.105, TCP port 5001
TCP window size: 8.00 KByte (default)
------------------------------------------------------------
[208] local 192.168.2.103 port 52088 connected with 192.168.2.105 port 5001
[ ID] Interval Transfer Bandwidth
[208] 0.0- 5.0 sec 35.3 MBytes 59.2 Mbits/sec
[208] 5.0-10.0 sec 35.6 MBytes 59.8 Mbits/sec
[208] 10.0-15.0 sec 35.8 MBytes 60.1 Mbits/sec
[208] 0.0-15.0 sec 107 MBytes 59.7 Mbits/sec
[128] local 192.168.2.103 port 5001 connected with 192.168.2.105 port 53502
[ ID] Interval Transfer Bandwidth
[128] 0.0- 5.0 sec 33.6 MBytes 56.3 Mbits/sec
[128] 0.0- 5.0 sec 282 Mbits 56.4 Mbits/sec


Gigabit Powerline HD

iperf -c 192.168.2.105 -l 64k -t 15 -i 5 -r

------------------------------------------------------------
Server listening on TCP port 5001
TCP window size: 8.00 KByte (default)
------------------------------------------------------------
------------------------------------------------------------
Client connecting to 192.168.2.105, TCP port 5001
TCP window size: 8.00 KByte (default)
------------------------------------------------------------
[208] local 192.168.2.103 port 52088 connected with 192.168.2.105 port 5001
[ ID] Interval Transfer Bandwidth
[208] 0.0- 5.0 sec 35.3 MBytes 59.2 Mbits/sec
[208] 5.0-10.0 sec 35.6 MBytes 59.8 Mbits/sec
[208] 10.0-15.0 sec 35.8 MBytes 60.1 Mbits/sec
[208] 0.0-15.0 sec 107 MBytes 59.7 Mbits/sec
[128] local 192.168.2.103 port 5001 connected with 192.168.2.105 port 53502
[ ID] Interval Transfer Bandwidth
[128] 0.0- 5.0 sec 33.6 MBytes 56.3 Mbits/sec
[128] 0.0- 5.0 sec 282 Mbits 56.4 Mbits/sec

HEADRAT
 
Last edited:
Associate
Joined
12 Aug 2005
Posts
1,025
Location
Team 10
For your average home user that's not bad considering you don't need extra cables but that'd kill me. I'm too used to 60MB/s+ on my gigabit wired network.
 
Associate
Joined
8 Oct 2008
Posts
1,221
:/ it's a shame they suck, however they have got terrible reviews. I found 200mbs plugs give only .2mbs over the standard 85mps plugs. The gigabit plugs in reviews only worked at high speed if plugged directly next too the other Belkin plug.. Great they have reinvented the chocolate teapot.

It's the same with all the newer high speed technologies. High speed = tiny distance. The new USB3 has a max range of 3m.. usb2 5m usb - 30m.
wirelessN = short range. hdmi/dvi = short range.

I don't know if the new sata or displayport are limited in the same respect, it wouldn't surprise me.
 
Soldato
Joined
1 Nov 2004
Posts
4,183
These plugs are even getting bad reviews stateside , anymore than a few plug sockets away and they perform no better than 200mbs plugs as HEADRAT is getting.

In this review by renown network Guru Tim Higgins who runs one of the top networking review sites got better results with Netgear 200mbs plugs and could not get the Belkin plugs to work anybetter even after a Belkin Engineer turned up to look at the Belkins poor throughput.

A Work In Progress: Belkin Gigabit Powerline HD Starter Kit Reviewed - Tim Higgins - August 04, 2009

SmallNetBuilder - Small Network Help - A Work In Progress: Belkin Gigabit Powerline HD Starter Kit Reviewed


.
 
Soldato
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
4,647
Location
The Darkside
Nearly everything Belkin makes is crap. I touch their stuff evey week and I couls bin the lot of it. Why on earth do they state gigabyte speeds when it is not possible even with the best circuits?
 
Associate
Joined
15 Apr 2004
Posts
1,815
those perfomance stats are completely identical
are they the correct ones, would have expected at least 0.1 of a difference in one of those numbers jsut from natural variability!
 
Associate
Joined
11 Feb 2008
Posts
296
Location
Lancashire, UK
I have two of these which work fine out of the box. Havant tried anything intensive yet as im in the process of building a new system (just using old).

Couple of quick questions chaps:

1. Can another device be added to these which is not the same model? (I know they advertise that more of the same can) I assume its the powerline type only (not homelpug) if at all possible. Im thinking of a cheaper 200mbps version (given the general lower performance consensus) no point in me buying the more expensive versions for my other Pcs.

2. I realise the speed of these is no where near the advertised, but just for argument sake, assuming my network connection shows as 1gbps for these two devices connected to my PC. If I do add another compatible device which is 200mbps (cheaper one) would that mean the network would default to 200mpbs (again to re-iterate I realise the throughput if no where near, more like 2mpbs).

Thanks.
 
Top Bottom