1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

gigabyte ax370 k5 vs 5?

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by Thekwango, May 18, 2017.

  1. orbitalwalsh

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 1, 2015

    Posts: 1,635

    I have the K5, love it . runs corsair 16GB 3000hz LXP which isn't actually support with xmp enabled .

    Bios is more limited then K7/5 which is a shame but well suited for a standard user slapping in an X version CPU and letting it get on with it .

    I've manually got a 1600 running @3.8 with 1.3v , will push higher later
     
  2. Darren_uk

    Hitman

    Joined: Jan 25, 2006

    Posts: 542

    Location: Kent ,UK

    I Have the Gaming 5 , not missing out on much at all , you can still OC the same with K5 & even with a Gaming 3 or lower , So you really not missing out on much at all , Wish i went for K5 now
     
  3. Thekwango

    Soldato

    Joined: Feb 5, 2009

    Posts: 5,820

    Location: northern Ireland

    Ah now there's something I hadn't thought about. Get the k5 instead of the 5 and get the 1600x instead of the 1600, price is virtually the same.
    How difficult was it to get the 1600 oc'd manually?
     
  4. Thekwango

    Soldato

    Joined: Feb 5, 2009

    Posts: 5,820

    Location: northern Ireland

    Yea looking more likely I'll go with the K5, or at least that's my current train of thought. It could change within the hour!!
     
  5. Darren_uk

    Hitman

    Joined: Jan 25, 2006

    Posts: 542

    Location: Kent ,UK

    :)

    MSI B350 Tomahawk & Mortar Arctic White Ryzen Motherboard Review
    OC3D TV Youtube review
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hzjdyPPFq7M i like this Micro Atx board from MSI going for £98.99 Google search
    full review ,Worth a watch if you not seen it , Whats good as he tested the top x1800
    in all the boards in the benchmark tables & M-atx was just as good as the top x370 boards in oc
    & got to 4.0ghz , saving over £200 if you go for m-atx

    Gigabyte AORUS AX370-GAMING K5 still great buy for around £150 extra ports sata ports ..ect if needed
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2017
  6. Thekwango

    Soldato

    Joined: Feb 5, 2009

    Posts: 5,820

    Location: northern Ireland

    Dude what are you trying to do to me, can you not tell I'm already an indecisive sod - don't throw more options into the mix on me! Lol
    In fairness I'm pretty set on it at least being a gigabyte board mainly due previous good experiences and the uk based rma. Plus the gigabyte rep on the forums here seems too notch.
     
  7. Darren_uk

    Hitman

    Joined: Jan 25, 2006

    Posts: 542

    Location: Kent ,UK

    lol , If you watch that video its Shine down to you from the heavens ....
    Showing you you don't need to pay out for alot ,
    no not saying get a MSI Board ,
    but video shows you all boards what ever make can OC ,
    So still I recommend the K5 , otherwise go for a under £100

    LED lites around the Gaming K5 & K7 & Gaming 5 are really great also , same on each board :)
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2017
  8. orbitalwalsh

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 1, 2015

    Posts: 1,635

    I've been using Ryzen Master for the time being with troubling shooting and testing the system with XFire in Windows Creator edition which is a bit of a b**** but will transfer settings into Bios as soon as Mays Bios up fully released, im on not real rush

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

     
  9. Darren_uk

    Hitman

    Joined: Jan 25, 2006

    Posts: 542

    Location: Kent ,UK

    Last edited: May 20, 2017
  10. prjwebb

    Gangster

    Joined: Jun 29, 2016

    Posts: 315

    Not sure if it's already been stated, but I believe the K5 has the ability to adjust the BCLK like the K7, where the Gaming 5 does not.
     
  11. Darren_uk

    Hitman

    Joined: Jan 25, 2006

    Posts: 542

    Location: Kent ,UK

    Wish now i went for this board saving another £50
     
  12. orbitalwalsh

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 1, 2015

    Posts: 1,635

    Indeed
     
  13. Thekwango

    Soldato

    Joined: Feb 5, 2009

    Posts: 5,820

    Location: northern Ireland

    looking more and more like the K5 then - haven't changed my mind in over 24hrs, so that's definitely a good sign!

    cheers for the replies folks. i'll be doing a build log once I order the cpu, board and ram - going to be watercooling, initially just the cpu, so you all can have a look (and likely laugh!) at my efforts
     
  14. orbitalwalsh

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 1, 2015

    Posts: 1,635

    Seen arguments for k5 should have more of a Bios like Gaming 5 & k7- party I do agree with some but not as much, as then it defeats the point of the board as may as well get Gaming 5/K7 - and looks like Gigabyte covered pricing point though personally would of liked K5 to have hit £160 and k3 £145

    K5 can't have fixed voltages via Bios for a heads up so I set mine Via Ryzen Master. Since k5 system is for sale, make life easier using oc software . but that's me personally for selling systems.
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2017
  15. mattyfez

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Apr 12, 2007

    Posts: 7,645

    Gigabytes UK support do seem good, and something to consider, I dropped a cpu onto my socket bending several pins, after giving up trying to straighten them I emailed them with a picture asking if they'd repair it (own fault not warranty claim).

    They said send proof of purchase and as more than 3 pins were bent won't attempt to straighten, they'd put a new socket on it for £30 which I thought was very good!!
     
  16. Thekwango

    Soldato

    Joined: Feb 5, 2009

    Posts: 5,820

    Location: northern Ireland

    Aye I'm seeing and hearing only good things about Gigabyte Support at the mo. Which had definitely been a big deciding factor.
     
  17. mattyfez

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Apr 12, 2007

    Posts: 7,645

    I'm assuming I'd have to cover the postage costs myself, and choose insurance, but even still it beats a lot or RMA processes as I won't have to send it overseas.
     
  18. Thekwango

    Soldato

    Joined: Feb 5, 2009

    Posts: 5,820

    Location: northern Ireland

    Postage will be about a fiver. So bound to be cheaper than shipping to Taiwan!
     
  19. Darren_uk

    Hitman

    Joined: Jan 25, 2006

    Posts: 542

    Location: Kent ,UK

    Heres the Turbo BCLK chips on the K5 , Same as the K7 ,Even the K3


    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2017 at 7:55 PM
  20. orbitalwalsh

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 1, 2015

    Posts: 1,635

    Believe its the same chip
     


Share This Page