Gigabyte z77-D3H or MSI Z77A-G45

Associate
Joined
6 Jan 2011
Posts
1,330
To Settle an arguement with my friend.

both boards same price this week. if you had to choose one which would it be and why?
 
Soldato
Joined
6 Feb 2010
Posts
14,357
Well the MSI G43 has locked voltage...so someone might need to double-check if G45 is not voltage locked as well.

But to be honest, I'd just grab the Gigabyte since it's already been proven to be a great budget board, and has UK rma base should anything unfortunate happens...
 
Associate
Joined
15 Jul 2012
Posts
1,940
Gigabyte for 6 years now, very happy with their motherboards. I would choose the MSI because it's a nicer colour, has better SATA layout, and more power cooling. Also people seem happy with MSI boards. The lack of a PCI slot would be the only deal breaker for me as I still have a PCI audigy 2ZS.
 
Associate
Joined
6 Jan 2011
Posts
1,330
The D3H is a great board for its price theres no denying that.

And i know it comes down to a personal build and preference, if someone is never going to crossfire or sli or use any of the extra epansions slots of the g45 then it would be best to get gigabyte, but if they were to sli/crossfire and would use expansion slots in future g45 would be best?

but say if someone had £84 didn't know if they would crossfire/sli in future, didnt know if they would need expansion slots in future

would you not prefer to spend your money on the board that would allow those capabilities to you in the future should you want to take advatange of extra expansion slots?
 
Caporegime
Joined
17 Jan 2010
Posts
66,804
Location
weston-super-mare
Well the MSI G43 has locked voltage...so someone might need to double-check if G45 is not voltage locked as well.

But to be honest, I'd just grab the Gigabyte since it's already been proven to be a great budget board, and has UK rma base should anything unfortunate happens...

Thats pretty lame if true.
 
Associate
Joined
15 Jul 2012
Posts
1,940
Very lame, don't see why it would say OC Genie on it and have locked voltage though. Can't seem to find out if it has locked though, can't see one single review about it.
 
Top