Go Kart / ATV / Stuff built in your garage Thread

Soldato
Hello there people of motors.

It would appear that I do not do well locked in a house with my garage around me. I've started fitting NOS to the Citroen C1, about to remap the Evoque and bought a go kart frame and new engine off eBay.

I haven't seen a thread on go karts, but here it is now. I've never built one, so you know. I have binge watched a **** ton of youtube lately, so naturally I'm a pro.

This is the beast...

apfZrwR.jpg

100quid for the frame. Bit ratty, but this is literally meant to **** around our area (we are out at the edge of an industrial area, and have a large drive and they just put fresh tarmac outside our house :D) so not for any actual racing.

Bought a 100quid engine from eBay too. 200cc 7.5hp beauty.

When it all arrives I'll need to look at the engine mounting, rear axle/ bearings and clutch and see what happens. Oh, and wheels. They might help.

Will be doing a build series on it with the kids. Should be fun to play about with! I know I'll want more than one though... I fancy a full sus one as well :D haha my wife is literally going to lose her mind.

Anyone built one? Show us your karts!!

Soldato
OP
Funny you should post something like this as Colin Furze put this video up yesterday, which should be right up your street:
Mate I watched that as well! Haha The kids sent it to me and were like... next project?

Frame arrives tomorrow apparently. I had ordered a 200cc engine but current climate etc they're saying it's out of stock, even though I bought it and said it was in stock. I've asked if they have anything in stock. I want to see if I can find a good deal on a set of wheels and tyres and I'll pick up some rear hubs and then order an axle/ bearings and carriers when the frame arrives. Then at least it rolls!

Total list of parts thus far needed:

• engine (I think 200cc 7.5hp should do for now)
  • clutch or torque converter
  • rear axle
  • rear hubs