1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Godox v860 ll

Discussion in 'Photography & Video' started by ethan, Oct 22, 2018.

  1. ethan

    Soldato

    Joined: Sep 16, 2005

    Posts: 6,677

    Location: What used to be a UK

    I had a flash fail on me yesterday whilst photographing an event and so I'm looking for a backup/replacement. Can anybody confirm the v860 does on camera TTL? There's some deceitful advertising from some retailers saying Godox flashes do things that they don't. Take for example one site stating the Pixa Pro v850 is the UK version of the V860 etc when it's not. As far as I'm aware the v850 doesn't do on camera TTL etc.

    I haven't got a clue as to why the flash failed since it was operating perfectly fine once I got it back home. It just failed to fire a number of times.
     
  2. Wedge

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 2,830

    Location: watchin scrubs.

    Pretty sure the answer is yes, But Ray L will (im sure) be along shortly to confirm, I know he bought one last week.
     
  3. i know nothing

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 6, 2004

    Posts: 3,065

    Location: Socialist Hell

    Basic breakdown for you:-
    TT600 manual/HSS/AA battery
    TT685 TTL/HSS/AA battery
    V850II manual/HSS/Li Ion battery
    V860II TTL/HSS/Li Ion battery

    Must get the correct one for your make, otherwise TTL/HSS won't work. i.e. V860IIN for Nikon, V860IIC for Canon etc.

    V860II and TT685 are basically the same unit, the battery pack is what differs and the Li Ion battery pack in the V860II delivers a slightly better recycle time.
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2018
  4. ethan

    Soldato

    Joined: Sep 16, 2005

    Posts: 6,677

    Location: What used to be a UK

    I'm assuming I'll be fine with the v860 ll. I've not read anywhere it stating it doesn't do on camera TTL. Saying that, only a few places advertised the V850ll as manual, whilst many continued to advertise its virtues as being TTL capable, hiding the fact it was off camera only with a trigger. I'm just being cautious. Once I get it I'll be using the v860 as a Master so the v850 doesn't go to waste. Thanks.
     
  5. Raymond Lin

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: Oct 20, 2002

    Posts: 60,306

    Location: Wish i was in New York

    When I tested it at home on the camera it didn't misfires but when I tried it yesterday....may be I am doing it wrong?

    [​IMG]
     
  6. ethan

    Soldato

    Joined: Sep 16, 2005

    Posts: 6,677

    Location: What used to be a UK

    Oh? Just got mine today and haven't had time to test.
    I've read there are a number of issues using a trigger with the Sony A7 along with a careful note to overtighten the foot into the hot shoe of the Flex because it will cause your flash to misfire. There is also a video somewhere about this issue -but I am currently unable to find it. I also recall there's an auto-power off mode that needs to be switched off: Under the Custom Function (C.Fn): 00-0, set that to 00-1 to disable the power saving mode. Refer to P.22 of the user manual for more information. If it's not any of these then I don't have a clue.
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2018
  7. Raymond Lin

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: Oct 20, 2002

    Posts: 60,306

    Location: Wish i was in New York

    Not sure if I am doing it wrong but put the flash on the camera yesterday at a wedding, TTL, camera flash set to fill.

    Nothing happens.........am I doing something wrong in the settings?
     
  8. ethan

    Soldato

    Joined: Sep 16, 2005

    Posts: 6,677

    Location: What used to be a UK

    I've only heard of Bluetooth interfence with triggering. I'll have to check later but hopefully somebody else will be able to help you out.
     
  9. Paul11

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 28, 2003

    Posts: 10,061

    Location: London

    Does anyone know if the Godox for Canon should work on a Sony A7III ?


    edit: mine just arrived, and it seems the godox does work on it
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2018 at 4:05 PM
  10. Snapshot

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 11, 2006

    Posts: 3,753

    Location: Wiltshire

    It very much depends on what you mean by 'work'. It should work in manual mode on-camera but that's it. It will also work remotely with TTL if triggered by an on-camera Godox flash or controller.
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2018 at 9:14 AM
  11. Paul11

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 28, 2003

    Posts: 10,061

    Location: London

    I realised after a bit of testing that it only works on Manual and not any of the other features, so i ordered the Sony version which should arrive today :)