1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Good Cheap Server - HP Proliant Microserver 4 BAY - OWNERS THREAD

Discussion in 'Servers and Enterprise Solutions' started by dragonuk, Dec 10, 2010.

  1. Stoned_SpaZZZ

    Hitman

    Joined: Nov 9, 2005

    Posts: 769

    Location: places..

    Any more info on this? is this was exactly what I was planning to do, i know i could use debian, but I'd rather have the 5 years support with an ubuntu LTS edition.
     
  2. bremen1874

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 20, 2008

    Posts: 10,482

    Given that these machines only have two memory slots isn't installing 2 x 2GB possibly a bit short sighted?

    A single 4GB stick of memory is only about £40 and will leave a slot free for later.
     
  3. dragonuk

    Gangster

    Joined: Jul 19, 2008

    Posts: 128

    I was thinking of only having 2gb ram total in mine (2 x 1gb) do you think I will need more. What tasks would need 4gb ram total ?

    Also ECC vs Non-ECC what should i get ?
     
  4. bremen1874

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 20, 2008

    Posts: 10,482

    If you only want 2 x 1GB there are going to be loads of 1GB sticks going cheap in the near future. Basically everyone that upgrades one of these machines with non-ECC memory is going to have one spare.

    The amount of memory you will need will depend on what you’re going to use the machine for.

    For a non-production machine you shouldn’t need ECC memory.

    ECC memory will cost significantly more than the equivalent non-ECC memory.

    You need to remember that you can’t mix ECC and non-ECC in the same machine.
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2010
  5. Zarf

    Mobster

    Joined: Jul 11, 2007

    Posts: 2,527

    4GB Ram aught to be enough for anyone ...

    JK, but naturally it comes down to what you are planning on doing with it. I'd rather save £10 and run in Dual Channel mode for now. Apart from running a whole load of low cpu VM's there's not a lot that needs 8GB. 4GB DDR3 Dimms will only get cheaper anyway.
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2010
  6. Robert

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 20, 2002

    Posts: 14,770

    Location: North West

    Not sure what OS to use!

    Ideally I want to point media extenders like the Boxee Box at this...or DLNA enabled TVs.

    AM thinking WHS or such like.


    Hmm...wondering if I should buy 5*2TB drives. Anyone know of a bay converter?
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2010
  7. Mikey

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 28, 2002

    Posts: 5,700

    Location: Locks Heath, Hampshire

    As per the Tech Heads VMWare site I'm I've ordered mine for a vSphere box :)

    Paid £259 for mine then take £100 cashback off.

    Includes 4GB RAM, DVD and USB for ESX embedded
     
  8. tom-17

    Associate

    Joined: Dec 6, 2009

    Posts: 62

    Location: Edinburgh

    This thread is torturing me, I ordered a NAS about two weeks ago and according to royal mail its been sat in a distribution centre for the best part of a week now.

    I've now been reading about this and thinking for £30 more then i've paid my NAS I can have a world more functionality.

    It would just be for home streaming purposes but the idea of having 4 drive bays and being able to fit and optical drive is really appealing.

    Downsides for me would be it would take up more space in my small flat and greater power usage.

    Really tricky decision!
     
  9. Zarf

    Mobster

    Joined: Jul 11, 2007

    Posts: 2,527


    bay converter here - http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=CA-208-LL

    Plenty of others on the search - http://www.overclockers.co.uk/search_results.php?sortby=priceAsc&search=5.25

    OS wise anything will do, you can use Mediatomb or PS3 Media Server to get your content on DLNA devices.
     
  10. kae2

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 13, 2010

    Posts: 1,048

    Location: UK

    Mine arrived today :D

    24 hours turn around, and I only paid for the cheap and cheerful delivery option, woo!
     
  11. Mikey

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 28, 2002

    Posts: 5,700

    Location: Locks Heath, Hampshire

    Just need to set-up another box for some iSCSI storage :D unless I can find a nice MSA FC SAN knocking around!
     
  12. CraigN

    Mobster

    Joined: Jul 30, 2005

    Posts: 2,509

    Location: Bristol

    I paid next day delivery for mine and its been sat in Parcelforce's "National Hub" for two days now !

    companies charging for next day delivery when they know they cant deliver are really annoying me now.
     
  13. territt

    PermaBanned

    Joined: Jan 6, 2009

    Posts: 1,333

    Location: Ramsgate, Kent

    who from?
     
  14. zetec452

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 15, 2003

    Posts: 9,454

    Do these units have the capability to run on 110v? Does it have that switch at the back of the PSU to swap it?

    Cheers,
     
  15. bremen1874

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 20, 2008

    Posts: 10,482

    The label on the system base says:

    50-60 Hz
    2.5 - 1.5 A
    100-240 V~
     
  16. kae2

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 13, 2010

    Posts: 1,048

    Location: UK


    Sent in trust.
     
  17. dragonuk

    Gangster

    Joined: Jul 19, 2008

    Posts: 128

    You get 2 leads. A Uk power lead with Uk plug, And a european lead with eu 2 pin plug
     
  18. zangetsu19

    Gangster

    Joined: Feb 21, 2010

    Posts: 193

    Location: UK

    Guys what ODD cable do you need to install the optical drive, bit confused never had a server before and want to install a OP on it
     
  19. Robert

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 20, 2002

    Posts: 14,770

    Location: North West

    If I wanted to use 5 drives (1 in the optical bay) could I raid them all or do they have a separate controller for the optical drive?
     
  20. zetec452

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 15, 2003

    Posts: 9,454

    Thanks guys.

    I'm contemplating ordering one in the UK and shipping it to Canada. The unit is $330 CAD excluding taxes and shipping with no rebate. It will work out cheaper to buy it in the UK and ship it overseas.