1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Google Stadia - pricing/launch details on 6th June 2019

Discussion in 'Console Games & Hardware' started by ic1male, Mar 16, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Safetytrousers

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Mar 31, 2016

    Posts: 1,213

    Location: Moonbase Alpha

    There is no initial purchase. For the 4k service it is just the £8.99 p/m fee. The pre-order package is totally optional.
    You can use your existing controller/keyboard&mouse and screen of your choice if is part of a system connected to the net. You do not need a chromecast if you can run a cable from your internet device to your screen (as I do).
     
  2. ic1male

    Caporegime

    Joined: Oct 28, 2003

    Posts: 25,436

    Location: Westchestershire

    That's quite a good point. If your console broke down outside its 1-year warranty period, you are basically screwed and have to shell out another few hundred quid to buy a new one or get it repaired. Whereas with this, you don't have to worry about hardware ever again.
     
  3. Rossi~

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 5, 2010

    Posts: 18,572

    At what level of detail though?
     
  4. ic1male

    Caporegime

    Joined: Oct 28, 2003

    Posts: 25,436

    Location: Westchestershire

    What can a PC with a Vega 56 do? It should be the same and I'm guessing you'd be getting Destiny 2 at 4K60 with everything maxed out. It is a very-well optimized game.
     
  5. Kreeeee

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Jul 13, 2004

    Posts: 41,275

    Location: /* */

    It's not aimed at us, this is for casual players who won't care about things like input latency.
     
  6. ic1male

    Caporegime

    Joined: Oct 28, 2003

    Posts: 25,436

    Location: Westchestershire

    It's supposed to have the same input latency as playing natively on an Xbox One console, believe it or not. Digital Foundry did some testing a while back.
     
  7. Chris1712

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jul 29, 2004

    Posts: 8,607

    Location: Somerset

    Yeah DF measured the X1X version of AC Odyssey and Stadia both had 166ms of latency. Very impressive, and it'll be more like 133ms with 60fps.
     
  8. Rossi~

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 5, 2010

    Posts: 18,572

    1080p on a 200Mb connection, probably a leased line from an office too. Not only that, they didn't use the same displays.

    On the 15mb connection it drops to 720p resolution, lowers quality on top of this and has higher latency (188ms).

    Overall, a pretty poor test. Will be interesting to see more reviews and real world results.
     
  9. justbeats

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 3,294

    Location: Shropshire

    Tbh it's the sub I have the most issue with and I'm not prepared to pay for that, I have enough outgoings as it is, where does it end...

    I'll give it a go in 1080p via PC but remain sceptical regards input lag/latency.
     
  10. Kreeeee

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Jul 13, 2004

    Posts: 41,275

    Location: /* */

    Why does AC Odyssey have such insane input lag on a physical console? That's a whole 10 frames if a game is 60fps!

    They really carefully selected their test title there.
     
  11. XeNoNF50

    Hitman

    Joined: Jan 11, 2016

    Posts: 853

    The game doesn't run 60fps on X1X I suspect.
     
  12. billysielu

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 9, 2009

    Posts: 11,159

    Location: Oxfordshire

    Just another scam to get people to pay monthly for things they don't need to pay monthly for. Lame.
     
  13. Chris1712

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jul 29, 2004

    Posts: 8,607

    Location: Somerset

    30 FPS, includes controller and screen latency let alone the game doing its thing in between.
     
  14. Kreeeee

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Jul 13, 2004

    Posts: 41,275

    Location: /* */

    30fps only counts for 16.6ms of that latency. What a poorly designed game engine.
     
  15. robfosters

    Caporegime

    Joined: Dec 1, 2010

    Posts: 29,030

    Location: Welling, London

    At the end of the day, I just don’t want to rely on an internet connection to game. At least if I’m playing Fifa on my PS4 and my internet goes down, I can switch to offline single player or stick another SP game on.

    It’s an interesting concept, but I’ll always prefer owning the hardware myself, and having the link between the system and TV to be a 3ft HDMI cable rather than miles and miles of fibre optic.
     
  16. ic1male

    Caporegime

    Joined: Oct 28, 2003

    Posts: 25,436

    Location: Westchestershire

    I’m most interested in seeing games that use platform specific features. The Ghost Recon game showed you live feeds of your three squad mates. You couldn’t really do that on other platforms because it relies on video being uploaded, integrated into the frame buffer, etc.
     
  17. hardkore

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 13, 2004

    Posts: 2,775

    Location: Norfolk

    As a dad I can see this easily killing off consoles and my laptop until the kids leave home. I don't really want to be buying a £1600 laptop every 4 years and at least with stadia, technically you'll never have to upgrade again.
     
  18. ic1male

    Caporegime

    Joined: Oct 28, 2003

    Posts: 25,436

    Location: Westchestershire

    I wonder what happens with DDOS attacks. Some muppet's bound to try it when it launches.
     
  19. ubiquity

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 22, 2010

    Posts: 112

  20. Dredd

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 30, 2002

    Posts: 1,744

    They are no different to any other server, all have protection now days.

    Destiny 2 (being included) could be very Interesting for Stadia, it's still using p2p connection but everyone playing on same server (zero lag) only lag from server to you?