1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

GW Factions

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by paul8811, 3 May 2006.

  1. paul8811

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 5 Nov 2002

    Posts: 2,152

    Location: Melbourne

    Installed this last night (already have the first GW) but whenever I go into a new area it takes anything from 10-20 minutes of loading & decompressing. Anyone heard of this problem as its kinda ruins the game?
     
  2. El_Watcher

    Mobster

    Joined: 1 Apr 2004

    Posts: 2,981

    Location: Herts, UK

    I'm guessing it's because it's new it is downloading all the updated and new content. Once it's downloaded once, it shoudn't do it again unless some content changes.
     
  3. paul8811

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 5 Nov 2002

    Posts: 2,152

    Location: Melbourne

    Surely all the new data is on the 2cd's that you install, the first GW never did this.
     
  4. ~Divine~Wind~

    Underboss

    Joined: 14 Jun 2004

    Posts: 16,416

    Location: Newcastle U/T

    The first GW always did this ;)

    Whenever they added new bits its gotta grab em.
     
  5. chimaera

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Aug 2004

    Posts: 3,511

    Location: Houston, TX

    It sounds like the factions content hasn't been transferred over, are you sure it performed a full install rather than just adding the new CD key to your account.
     
  6. paul8811

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 5 Nov 2002

    Posts: 2,152

    Location: Melbourne

    The install seemed to go fine, asked for both disks. I am sure something aint right as taking 20 minutes to decompress is taking the Michael & making the game unplayable.

    Edit - Found a long thread on the problem http://www.guildwarsguru.com/forum/showthread.php?t=142668
     
    Last edited: 3 May 2006