Hardwiring Car Accessories- Help a complete newb out

Soldato
Hey

I'm planning on hardwiring my PDA charger into my MX-5 (mk2) so the cigerette socket is free, but I'm not sure where the best place to wire it into is. :o

Initially I was going to take it from the cig socket, but I don't know how to get to it and someone else mentioned that I could take it from the car stereo which would be a lot easier.

So can I take it from the stereo easily, or would I be better of finding a way to get to the cig socket wires?

All I need to do is just wire my dual cig adapter in, run it around to the glovebox and then have the charger plugged into that.
But I doubt it will be that easy, and this is the first time I've attempted messing with the car electrics so any advice would be great.

Cheers
Steve

Caporegime
Easy peasy since i've done this myself :)

To pull out the cig lighter socket you need to twist it around till the cutout lines up with the cig lighter retainer clips, then pull it out, takes a little tug but it will come out.

You will have two wires on the back, yellow is + and black is -

use some of those wiring clips (can't remember the names) that you can snap over the cable and means you don't have to cut it.

Tidy up, route wires for charger behind dash then clip it all back together :)

Soldato
Please don't use Scotchlocks if thats what you have. They are rubbish and dangerous as they come undone frequently and cause short circuits.
Strip the wire, solder new wire on and use copious amounts of electrical tape.

Caporegime
emailiscrap said:
Please don't use Scotchlocks if thats what you have. They are rubbish and dangerous as they come undone frequently and cause short circuits.
Strip the wire, solder new wire on and use copious amounts of electrical tape.