1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Haswell 3 screen collage mode -what Gigabyte board?

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by JasonM, Jun 4, 2013.

  1. JasonM

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 19, 2009

    Posts: 1,818

    I need to choose a gigabyte board that can support 3 screen collage mode supporting all 3 monitors digitally.

    [​IMG]

    Does anyone know what gigabyte boards will support the above with all digital output?

    Thanks
    Jason
     
  2. casual_eze

    Gangster

    Joined: Apr 19, 2013

    Posts: 144

    Location: Cheshire

    i think all Z87 gigabyte boards with display port and HDMI will support it.

    I can confirm the Z87 UD4H does as here is a shot from the manual confirming it!

    [​IMG]
     
  3. GIGA-Man

    Gigabyte rep

    Joined: Feb 25, 2009

    Posts: 328

    Location: GIGABYTE UK

    Yes, any mobo which has HDMI_1 + HDMI_2 + DP can support 3 monitors simultaneously
     
  4. JasonM

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 19, 2009

    Posts: 1,818

    Giga-Man,

    I'm a little confused now. The Z87 UD4H only has 1 HDMI (not 2).

    Does the board specifically have to have 2*HDMI and 1*DP ?

    What I wish to do is run 3 identical monitors digitally, and set windows so it's a single virtual screen. The same as Quadro Mosaic and AMD Eyefinity.
     
  5. casual_eze

    Gangster

    Joined: Apr 19, 2013

    Posts: 144

    Location: Cheshire

    Jason,
    Will you be using display port monitors or something else? If so, based on your screenshot above you would daisy chain them to make all 3 work. If you are not using dp, what connections do your monitors have?
     
  6. JasonM

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 19, 2009

    Posts: 1,818

    Casual,

    My monitors are currently just normal DVI, however I already own DP to DVI converters. Would purchase HDMI to DVI converters if required.
     
  7. casual_eze

    Gangster

    Joined: Apr 19, 2013

    Posts: 144

    Location: Cheshire

    not sure it will work with DVI monitors because to get the third monitor connected, it seems you have to daisy chain it from the first DP monitor. I'm no expert on this so if anyone else know, please chip in.

    You could buy a single DP capable monitor and plug that natively into the DP output on the MB then daisychain your DVI monitor (with DP adapter) to that. Then connect your third display through HDMI with a HDMI>DVI adapter.
    This would be like the second row in your original pic in the first post. DO NOT BUY based on my recommendation though as i am assuming here (get proper presales advice from OCUK).

    You can also check out:
    http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/DrivingMultipleDisplaysFromaSingleDisplayPort.aspx
    Seems there may be some sort of expander you can use to plug all three DVI monitors into but no idea if this will work or not!

    Sorry for the vague responses
     


Share This Page