1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hearts of Iron 4

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by JimJoeRooney, Apr 10, 2015.

  1. Glaucus

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Mar 11, 2004

    Posts: 76,645

    no where near enough.

    this certainly needs a few updates.
    love how you change government and national interest doesn't change. especially annoying with UK. making over half of the tree utterly useless.
     
  2. philstanbridge

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 7,910

    Location: West Coast of Scotland

    You mean the national focus? I guess in UK terms, you're expected to go one way.
     
  3. Smokey Deza

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 11, 2011

    Posts: 1,465

    Oh turns out I started boosting fascism from the get go and forgot about it.


    Just started the same and have most of the east coast now. I built huge airfields and rockets bases in Ireland and just bombed the crap out of them with strategic jets and missiles (had to upgrade the jets for greater range or they won't reach unless you have an ace assigned with range modifier)

    Edit - not sure how my bombers are shooting down their fighters though :p
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2016
  4. Diplexbullet19

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 27, 2010

    Posts: 1,252

    Location: Staffordshire

    Maybe they added jet engines to the fortress bombers lol but yeah I forgot about spending XP for range upgrades xD.
     
  5. muttclugg

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 10, 2007

    Posts: 1,663

    Location: SE

    Have they improved the performance yet?
     
  6. philstanbridge

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 7,910

    Location: West Coast of Scotland

    RedBall Express 1.1 has been released today. There are increases in performance from all accounts.
     
  7. dpbadger

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 9, 2009

    Posts: 1,534

    Will it auto update on steam?
     
  8. philstanbridge

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 7,910

    Location: West Coast of Scotland

    Yes I think so. Mine did. But only if you have the betas turned off.
     
  9. chili

    Hitman

    Joined: Mar 19, 2011

    Posts: 541

    Having never heard of this series i decided to try the game out and while i like the look of strategy games etc once i had this installed i had no idea where to start, the tutorials are very vague and the wiki page is, well its not as good as a manual. Liked the look of the game but deleted it due to involved learning curve :(
     
  10. philstanbridge

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 7,910

    Location: West Coast of Scotland

    Oh you want to persevere with it. It's a typical Paradox title in that respect but it is worth learning. Where did you get stuck can I/we offer any advice?
     
  11. muttclugg

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 10, 2007

    Posts: 1,663

    Location: SE

    Well with news of the patch, I ordered it.

    I'm a long standing HOI3 player and I've got hundreds of hours on EUIV so I know how the Paradox games roll which certainly helps.

    I'm loving it. Started as Germany on the 1936 scenario and although I've only played a year, things are moving pretty quickly.

    I've got a NAP with Italy. I've gone down the route of becoming pals with the Russians and the Japanese and Spain is in a state of civil war. As soon as became allied with the Russians and got troops back into the Rhineland the French started amassing troops on the border so I've shifted my forces over there and set up my air force to provide intercepting cover.

    Looking forward to getting back on later.
     
  12. Diplexbullet19

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 27, 2010

    Posts: 1,252

    Location: Staffordshire

    Any tips on invading the usa and Canada as the germans? I keep failing and when I do land I'm instantly in supply trouble and when I'm not in supply trouble the us and Canadian troops outnumber me and swarm.
     
  13. chili

    Hitman

    Joined: Mar 19, 2011

    Posts: 541

    well i got stuck at the start :) i was presented with the tutorial screen and the rest was history i had no idea what to point at and click, since your reply i have watched a couple of tutorials on youtube. But its very mind boggling for a new player to grasp, i have reinstalled the game and will try again. Any links for new player appreciated.
     
  14. muttclugg

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 10, 2007

    Posts: 1,663

    Location: SE

    Have a read through the Paradox forums, keep watching the video's and keep with it.

    I think what makes it harder than it should be is that there's no real aim in the game. You need to decide at the start what you want to do so you have something to aim for. You can then do what you need to do ingame to help get to that goal. Without that, I find I just tend to do stuff for no reason so the consequences of what happens don't matter.
     
  15. [YG]Bug-Eyed

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 16, 2003

    Posts: 346

    Location: Stocksfield, Northumberland

    Try as minor nation first as more straightforward and limited in scope to get going. DDRJake on YouTube with El Salvador is quite good at running through basics of land combat
     
  16. sniffy

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 12, 2003

    Posts: 8,160

    Location: East Sussex

    Is this for your 1950 game? I imagine the USA has an insane amount of divisions at this point so you're gonna struggle getting a foothold on the coast. You could try invading via Mexico to relieve the pressure or invade the West Coast via Japan assuming they've captured Pearl Harbour. I've managed to invade the USA as Japan with relative ease. They did mobile against me fast but not fast enough stop me dashing up the coast to grab ports. It seems they naturally concentrate their forces on the East Coast.
     
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2016
  17. Smokey Deza

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 11, 2011

    Posts: 1,465

    Don't get the combat mechanics sometimes. I'm Russia it's 1949 and Germany invades my Eastern front where I've entrenched 6 million men. Green bubbles all along the line but they still push me back. I execute my plan to attack, and I rout them all the way back to Berlin. What gives?
     
  18. philstanbridge

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 7,910

    Location: West Coast of Scotland

    It's possibly a couple of things. Primarily German attrition as they invade the Soviet Union. Secondly poor AI division composition.
     
  19. Diplexbullet19

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 27, 2010

    Posts: 1,252

    Location: Staffordshire

    Same thing happened with me, Soviets declared war on me and I wasn't prepared and they go to berlin in days but I soon pushed them back even though I was outnumbered. Managed to win against the USA in the end, I managed to hold onto newfoundland and I forgot I could build ports so I maxed ports and managed to get hundreds of divisions over and blitz them.
     
  20. Clav

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 10, 2011

    Posts: 2,314

    Location: N.Ireland

    Maybe to do with planning bonuses as well, if the Germans had been planning the attack for ages they may have had enough of a bonus to push back. In general I have found that passive forces do tend to get pushed back though when the AI is in control.