1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help me choose a NAS

Discussion in 'Servers and Enterprise Solutions' started by dl8860, Jul 11, 2018 at 1:54 PM.

  1. dl8860

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 25, 2010

    Posts: 2,120

    Location: Surrey

    Until now my data backup efforts have just been using a 1TB external HDD to back up my PC's HDD, which is also 1TB. I also have a 256GB SSD which is not backed up, as SSDs are invincible amirite? PC's HDD is now pretty old, since 2011 I think. My HDD data is a mixture of videos, photos and music. SSD content is just programs and games.

    So it's about time I upgraded my backup approach to this decade, and seems like a NAS is a good way to do this. The benefits of being able to have access to all my files on the go, and also stream directly to Plex on my TV would be nice too. Wife's mac hasn't had a backup in a while either.

    My initial thoughts are a 2 bay NAS with 2TB in each bay, which gives me room for all of my current data plus more, and ability to have a RAID setup for extra performance and failure proofing.

    Regarding plex and video streaming, I keep reading about transcoding and hardware acceleration, but still can't work out if I need it. I never had any problems using direct play with my plex server just set up on my PC's hard drive and playing directly from there. So would I be OK with basically any remotely up to date NAS? Or do I need to worry about being able to video transcode?

    e.g. the Synology DS218Play chipset won't work with plex directly I don't think, whereas the DS218+ can. But is that just a transcoding thing and do I need to worry about it?
     
  2. bremen1874

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 20, 2008

    Posts: 8,297

    For Plex I think you'd need one of their Intel based models (such as the DS218+ you mention). I don't think you can run Plex on the other models at all.

    2GB isn't very much nowadays.

    And obviously there's the usual warning that RAID != backup. You don't want any data you care about to only exist on the NAS.
     
  3. pcfarrar

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 6, 2016

    Posts: 534

    I've got a DS218+, for best Plex transcoding performance you need to fit 2 x 4GB RAM modules. One module is in a tricky location to access and you have to strip the whole thing down to get at it. With 2 x 4GB it runs in dual channel mode which makes quite a difference to performance when transcoding.

    If your don't have loads of users doing simultaneous transcoding then it's fine with the stock 2GB + an additional 4GB module.

    This is the Crucial 4GB module that is compatible: CT51264BF186DJ

    Don't run Plex with just 2GB, it's not enough for transcoding.

    Only buy intel based Synology's for Plex, it's well supported. Don't even consider the DS218Play. I don't even think Plex currently works on the DS218Play anyway.
     
  4. dl8860

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 25, 2010

    Posts: 2,120

    Location: Surrey

    Thanks guys that's useful info. Any idea if I even need to run with transcoding though? I've tried reading on plex help pages but can't work it out. When do you need to transcode as opposed to just playing direct? I almost always watch plex on my Samsung H6400. And you need plex pass to transcode anyway right?

    And if I'm not transcoding, then I guess I don't need to worry about which exact model I get, is that right?
     
  5. bremen1874

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 20, 2008

    Posts: 8,297

    Check for yourself but as per my earlier post I believe that there are models that won't run Plex at all.

    Transcoding, if necessary, just needs enough oomph. Whether you'll need to transcode will depend on the original file, how it's encoded, the available bandwidth, and the playback device.
     
  6. pcfarrar

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 6, 2016

    Posts: 534

    Even if your not transcoding its best to get an Intel based NAS. You could always look for an older model, I just sold a DS216+II with 4GB RAM on ebay for £120.

    A lot of the new Synology units that use the ARM v8 CPU aren't currently compatible with Plex. They are in the process of releasing a new version that supports it but it's still in the Alpha stage I think.
     
  7. HoneyBadger

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 2, 2016

    Posts: 1,937

    Location: 127.0.0.1 [Kent]

    Not an issue for any new device, but if buying an older device from eBay, make sure it supports SMBv2+ - Otherwise if it's limited to SMBv1.1, Windows 10 will not be able to map a drive to it. (Via SMB)
     
  8. Avalon

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 29, 2002

    Posts: 3,609

    Another option is to look at something like a Gen8 Microserver, it'll probably be cheaper and more capable option with 4+ drives as an option. Unraid, FreeNAS or Xpenology are decent software options and a CPU mark of 2k is generally adequate for transcoding (usually slightly less will do) and CPU/RAM upgrades are readily available. It'll also be more suited to doing things like downloading with news/torrents, VPN work and any other services you wish to run.
     
  9. StevieP

    Soldato

    Joined: Jan 2, 2004

    Posts: 5,934

    Location: Chesterfield

    Microserver and unRaid for me! I switched from a Synology NAS and I've never looked back!
     
  10. neil_g

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 9, 2007

    Posts: 9,427

    Location: South Hampshire

    nope.
     
  11. Avalon

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 29, 2002

    Posts: 3,609

    Just to throw further fuel on the fire, if you run your Plex server on other hardware, the NAS doesn’t have the same overheads as it’s just serving files to the actual server, something like a ShieldTV, NUC or your existing PC/mac could do the heavy lifting (running Plex server/transcoding). Either way think carefully before going the NAS route.