Hi all,

I would be very grateful for any help you can offer. My setup is as follows:

Motherboard: Gigabyte Z7170-HD3P
Processor: Core i5 7600K
Memory: g Skill DDR4
Graphics: Zotac GTX1070 AMP! Extreme
Cooler: Coolermaster Hyper 212
Bios version: F21

I am new to overclocking a have tried to overclock the processor using Gigabytes Easytune utility and also in the bios.

My problem is that I am unable to select any CPU clock multiplier higher than 42x (the default is 38x). There is simply no option offered to go higher than that and the sliders are maxed on Easytune at that level. Also, from videos I have watched, and Gigabyte's overclocking guide, there should be an auto-overclock option in the bios. That option is missing in my bios (all other options are there). All my temps are fine, everything works with no crashes but I am unable to meaningfully overclock the CPU. It just won't let me select anything higher than 42x. I can adjust BCLK in the bios but would prefer not to go this route. I have searched and have never seen anyone else with this problem - do I just have a dud CPU?

Many thanks in advance.

Matt

Associate
I wouldn't be using a utility on the desktop and also overclocking in bios as they could be conflicting, I'd uninstall the easytune and then retry in bios ,

Associate
OP
Many thanks for your reply. I have tried this and no luck - I have tried uninstalling any overclocking utilities in Windows and resetting the bios to default but no change. 42x is the max I can select for any of the cores in bios, easytune and the Intel extreme utility. Very strange.

Associate
OP
Update to this - I have tried a few more things to resolve the issue with no success:

Things I have tried:

Updating bios to f22a
Reflashing bios
Clearing CMOS
Uninstalling tuning utilities in Windows and using bios overclock only

Associate
OP