1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help with windows media connect & xbox360

Discussion in 'Console Games & Hardware' started by TriedandTested, 20 May 2006.

  1. TriedandTested

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Jul 2004

    Posts: 15,682

    Location: Neptune

    I've installed the relevant software and service pack 2 and it's all fine from the Windows side of things (xbox is recognised, folders are shared etc) but when i try to access my music from the xbox it says it can't find a PC and to test the settings.

    I test them and the probs are there with it finding a PC and i check the settings and everything is set to automatic (IP addy, DNS etc)

    Any suggestions? :)
     
  2. TriedandTested

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Jul 2004

    Posts: 15,682

    Location: Neptune

    Ok, i've got it accessing the PC now! But it only shows about 6 albums/33 songs?! Help meh! :D
     
  3. bingham67

    Soldato

    Joined: 29 May 2005

    Posts: 6,931

    Location: Hertfordshire

    You have to add folders to share in media connect oh and by the way if you add a song in folder you have to re add folder its weird. :/
     
  4. TriedandTested

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Jul 2004

    Posts: 15,682

    Location: Neptune

    I've set up the folders i want to share...a couple of them are on an external HDD that is turned on and working. xbox still just picking up a couple of albums i can't find (!) and the beethoven one!
     
  5. TriedandTested

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Jul 2004

    Posts: 15,682

    Location: Neptune

    Ok, think i've got it going...but what a messy system. It seems that each album (that i have in its own folder) has to be shared individually?!!?

    Hope someone can tell me otherwise.
     
  6. bingham67

    Soldato

    Joined: 29 May 2005

    Posts: 6,931

    Location: Hertfordshire

    Ye that correct you have to share every different album file. :(
     
  7. Beepcake

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,882

    Location: Cheshire

    Bizarre. I have all my MP3s in sub-directories of c:\mp3; I shared that directory and all the albums contained within appeared on the 360. Also when I add new files they get automatically added, I don't have to re-share it PC-side.
     
  8. FeFiDoh

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Aug 2005

    Posts: 7,601

    Location: Swindon

    same as beepcake my music is shared and when going to the music thing on guide button it shows the albums in there
     
  9. TriedandTested

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Jul 2004

    Posts: 15,682

    Location: Neptune

    Edit; that don't matter...just dont like the system!
    Grr.

    Should be easier than this.
     
  10. GTCole

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Oct 2005

    Posts: 438

    Location: Wales

    Yep mines the same

    Are you sharing the files via the xbox or the connect software on your pc? i have added all the folders i wanted voa the xbox and as with the guys above all my files are there and any new ones are added too
     
  11. McDaniel

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Aug 2003

    Posts: 19,882

    Location: Southend-on-Sea

    i just shared my J:\Music folder and it detects everything :D
     
  12. ricky1981

    Mobster

    Joined: 10 Jun 2003

    Posts: 4,615

    Location: New Zealand

    Same here, just one shared folder and it picks up all the subfolders (about 800+ of them)
     
  13. Yas786

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 48,728

    Location: All over the world...

    Actually instead of me starting up a new thread, i might as well ask here and hopefully someone can guide/help me etc.

    I have winxp pro sp2 on my laptop and id like to be able to listen to my music from there on my 360. Now i know you can do it but from what i understand you need winxp media edition??...is that correct or do i just download the MCE extender onto my lapto and it will work with that??. Id rather not have to re-install a new copy of winxp on my lappy.

    So can anyone clarify this for me and if its only the MCE extender i need, where do i get it from etc???

    TIA:)
     
  14. TriedandTested

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Jul 2004

    Posts: 15,682

    Location: Neptune

  15. Yas786

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 48,728

    Location: All over the world...

    Cheers Tried:).

    Ill have a look when i get home :)