1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

High volts on core but no Bios feature

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by RoboCod, 4 May 2006.

  1. RoboCod

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Jun 2004

    Posts: 19,084

    Location: On the Amiga500

    Hi Im currently setting up my mates computer, here's the spec for ease:

    CPU: AMD 1800
    Mobo: Biostar M7VIP (?)
    Ram: 512 Elixir

    Im having a few issues though (as usual). I have everything installed and running SP2 stable, however the temps get a little high. Its idling now at 42degrees and the volts sit at 1.72. I thought this was a little high? There is no option in the Bios to alter the volts and I assume this is the main reason its running so hot? I have no knowledge of this board but it appears to have a few overclocking options with the ram and cpu. I would have thought there would be an option to alter the volts, is the board flashable?

    Thanks in advance

    CP
     
  2. RoboCod

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Jun 2004

    Posts: 19,084

    Location: On the Amiga500

    I see now that 1.75 is stock volts for pally's, which I assume this chip is. I'm going to have to improve the cooling setup I think. The heatsink is cack and the fan is a 60mm noisy little thing.
     
  3. vanandjuanunited

    Soldato

    Joined: 20 Oct 2005

    Posts: 5,733

    Temperatures are probably fine as well. My xp's ran hot.
     
  4. RoboCod

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Jun 2004

    Posts: 19,084

    Location: On the Amiga500

    Ah I must be overreacting then because Im used to 25degrees idle on mine :)

    Another thing though, Im running a single stick of 512 DDR400 although the board is only 333. This shouldn't cause any problem though??
    We also have a spare stick of 256, would it be possible to stick it in the 2nd or 3rd slot?

    Ta
     
  5. vanandjuanunited

    Soldato

    Joined: 20 Oct 2005

    Posts: 5,733

    Memory will run at 333. Just stick the memory in - it should be fine.
     
  6. Dutch Guy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,560

    Location: Amsterdam,The Netherlands

    42 at idle is fine as I think the Palomino's weren't as advanced as current A64 CPU when idling, when I had a XP setup I had a top of the line Alpha PAL cooler and that never got the CPU much cooler than 40C

    PC3200 (DDR400) memory can run slower just fine, you might even have the chance of running slightly lower/faster timings.