Home user PC support /repairs anyone doing it?

Soldato
I've been doing this for 15 years (as a hobby) I work full time (in IT) . Been really lazy for the past 3 /4 years income has dropped 50% to 70%..

I've been posting leaflets (much less successful that a few years ago)

A bit cheaky to ask but I've given plenty of help and advice to people over the years here but any suggestions on how to boost income (customers)? Anyone had luck advertising on Facebook? Advertising in different ways or maybe pushing slightly different angles?

To be clear I work full time this is my hobby (side benefit is money) I don't need to do this.

Possibly only people who do home User support can help here I'd really appreciate any advice offered.

Soldato
First thing I'd do that is free, is join local community facebook groups. Most towns/villages all have one and recommend people for things. It'll be a great way to get to know your area and surrounding towns. Don't be all out salesy as people won't like you coming in and selling right at them, but join, contribute, listen and you should find people in those that will be useful. Also they're the sort of people who are more likely to need computer support tbh!

Permabanned
When I used to do it 15 years ago there was a big demand but over the years I feel it’s gone down hill.

The biggest thing I found was configuring people’s routers and having to setup the broadband usernames and passwords for people creating home networks.

This was the biggest money maker for me but once routers come pre configured and devices become plug n play there was no need any more for that.

Personally I don’t think there’s a market for this any more. Don’t get me wrong you might make a tiny bit money but probably nothing worth your time. As time moves on more people are using mobiles and tablets and the gamers now know what to do. Many of them build their own systems.