1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how do you get Elite Dangerous in VR ? (on Epic Store)

Discussion in 'Virtual Reality' started by ShiWarrior, 12 Jan 2022.

  1. ShiWarrior

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,193

    Location: Oxon

    Got the game for free, decided to install it for the first time, cant get it to VR

    need help please
     
  2. something daft already!!

    Soldato

    Joined: 11 Jan 2007

    Posts: 6,654

    Location: South East

    I have not played it in years but it runs or at least it did run through Steam VR.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Mr.Cookie

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,785

    Location: Earth

    Try adding it as a non steam game into steam then running it as per something daft.
     
  4. silvagti

    Mobster

    Joined: 10 Apr 2013

    Posts: 3,185

    Iirc the latest expansion odyssey doesn’t support vr and you need to use the previous version horizons in order to run it with vr support?
     
  5. mattyg

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Jun 2007

    Posts: 8,455

    Then you have to set it to VR in the settings
     
  6. MoNkeE

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Dec 2004

    Posts: 9,209

    Location: NE England

    It also doesn’t use touch controls, and unless you custom map everything on an Xbox controller, it’s almost impossible to fly. Elite is a ridiculously complicated game with a lot of keyboard controls to use - finding these on your keyboard whilst wearing a headset is an awful task.
     
  7. Moley

    Mobster

    Joined: 29 Aug 2006

    Posts: 3,720

    Location: In a world of my own

    Odyssey does do VR in space but not in first person mode on the ground for some reason.
     
  8. Mr_Sukebe

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 23 Dec 2002

    Posts: 9,490

    Location: London

    Odyssey is a bit weird. When you fly a ship, you’re in full VR. When you walk, you can stay in the VR headset, but you get a 2d image projected in front of you.
     
  9. BigBANGtheory

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 21 Apr 2007

    Posts: 1,914

    No that's not quite true.

    Odyssey supports VR in the same way Horizons does with ship and SRV experiences... however on foot gameplay is a **** poor projected mode. The main issue with Odyssey to also be aware of is it can take a big performance hit which in VR terms can render it unusable. So you can play in VR but imho the experience isn't great and Frontier Developments don't seem to be capable of fixing the performance issues and are not willing to touch VR atm.

    Sad to see it go this way but it has no sense in hiding behind the current state of things.
     
  10. bigmike20vt

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 May 2006

    Posts: 2,732

    i went back to ED:O for the 1st time in a while (since it 1st launched) to do this weeks community goal to get the double engineered FSDs and there was noticeable improvement in performance in space and also when flying around the planet surface - it was flawless in fact with my reverb G2.

    i didnt try the on foot stuff again however as it just does not interest me how it is implemented at the moment

    In the interests of openness i do have an rtx 3090 however.... but it definitely WASNT flawless at any point when i played it right after launch (i did not bother with the beta)
     
  11. ShiWarrior

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,193

    Location: Oxon

    thanks all

    even more confused :D

    i did try and launch the game without VR and it always loads Oculus and when i goto settings the game crashes out back to desktop ?
     
  12. bigmike20vt

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 May 2006

    Posts: 2,732


    not tried myself but did see this post if it helps (no idea on your crashing however)
    =======================

    Epic Launcher Settings (lower left corner) > Elite Dangerous > Additional Command Line Arguments

    the Additional Command Line Arguments to set for Elite is "/NOVR"

    then if you want to load in vr

    Epic Games has a menu for each item in your library (three horizontal dots). One of these is labelled, "Launch in VR", which seems to override the command line argument specified in the settings.

    This allows you to launch it in standard by clicking the portrait, whilst still being able to load in to VR when you want to by using the menu item, so you have the best of both worlds
     
  13. Ravenger

    Mobster

    Joined: 16 Jul 2010

    Posts: 3,840

    You're right - performance in VR is massively improved. I could actually use the Quest 2 at max res and it looked great.
     
  14. ShiWarrior

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,193

    Location: Oxon

    thanks, will have to try this
     
  15. ShiWarrior

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,193

    Location: Oxon

    nearly there !

    just trying this now

    launched VD on my Quest 2

    loaded up Epic Games app

    clicked on 3 dots, launch in VR

    game loaded in VR , looks nice so far

    but i cant choose an option, game pad , mouse or keyboard dont do anything lol
     
  16. ShiWarrior

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,193

    Location: Oxon

    got it

    it was in the background on my PC , so not active lol

    ill report back in a few
     
  17. melmac

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Dec 2010

    Posts: 10,231

    Have you never tried Elite Dangerous before in VR?

    If Not, you are going to be stunned by how big the ships are.
     
  18. ShiWarrior

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,193

    Location: Oxon

    no, as per OP :)

    works really well

    training nearly complete, just would not let me shoot down the second drone for some reason, my ship would not fire even though guns were selected !

    its really cool in VR, stomach went on a couple of turns (as you do) but im feeling perfectly fine so far
     
  19. Ravenger

    Mobster

    Joined: 16 Jul 2010

    Posts: 3,840

    The sense of scale is incredible. It's just a shame that the actual game is the epitome of a mile wide and an inch deep.
     
  20. ShiWarrior

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,193

    Location: Oxon

    wow oh wow

    done my first mission !

    feeling a little queasy now, but this is amazing
    always liked Elite games, so this is just the icing on the cake !