How do you know if your PSU is underpowered?

Associate
Joined
1 Oct 2006
Posts
234
Hi, I'm trying to figure out what is wrong with my PC, i have recently upgraded to a 4870x2, however it runs no better, and sometimes worse than my old 8800GT.
This is on a fresh install of Windows XP.
For some reason Vista64 crashes when I try to do a fresh install of it since I have installed the new card.
I have also noticed ALOT more hard drive activity since I installed the card, with massive crunching going on continuously. There is also a small delay on the DVD ROM, it used to ask me if I wanted to boot from CD a little sooner than it does now.

I have an X-Power 700W which I got from PC world or ******, not sure which. But I know this card is quite a beast and requires alot of juice.

The reason I ask is because I don't have any other problems other than pretty crap performance from a card which is generations ahead of my old card. I don't have any glitching, crashes or failure to start the machine like I have had in the past when my PSU was dying.

My PC is as follows:
[email protected]
Gigabyte P31 DS3L
4GB DDR800 RAM
Sapphire 4870X2
WD Raptor 37gb
Windows XP 32bit

I have tried without overclocking the CPU but that didn't help. I'm also soon to get a q9550, but surely the CPU isn't at fault here? I get 9000 3D mark 2006 points, which is WAY below what this card is capable of.

How do I test the PSU, is there a way?
Any help appreciated :confused:
 
Associate
Joined
29 May 2005
Posts
1,049
Location
Hereford, Herefordshire
to be honest id think about changing the psu anyway ,if you get a high quality one it should last you though many rebuilds so is good back for buck in the long run ,btw i think it could well be a psu problem
 
Associate
Joined
7 Jun 2009
Posts
388
It's running worse than your old card because you CPU is a massive bottleneck. You will certainly have to upgrade that to get the best out of your 4870x2. I wouldn't say the PSU is the problem at all.
 

J.B

J.B

Soldato
Joined
16 Aug 2006
Posts
5,922
AHHH X-Power, there should be a government grant to subsidise replacing PSUs like that.
 
Man of Honour
Joined
17 Feb 2003
Posts
29,615
Location
Chelmsford
If you have recently installed Vista, make sure you turn off indexing. This would explain the heavy disk activity.

As already posted, the CPU is likely causing the bottleneck.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
1 Oct 2006
Posts
234
Really? I would love to save myself 70 quid if that is the case! :)
The rest of the upgrade is costing enough as it is :p

The q9550 is due any day now.
 
Man of Honour
Joined
12 Jul 2005
Posts
19,650
Location
Aberlour, NE Scotland
To get the best out of a X2 you really need a quad. Your poor little E2180 with it's 1mb cache will be badly bottlenecking that card. On a side note, you psu is a load of cack too. You can get much better for £70. There is no way that thing will be able to deliver 700w.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
1 Oct 2006
Posts
234
I just loaded my PC and the screen was all garbled when it updated itself to my 120hz refresh rate profile. I had to swap the refresh rate back n forth to effectively clear it and now it's fine.
Is that a driver problem or?
 
Associate
OP
Joined
1 Oct 2006
Posts
234
To get the best out of a X2 you really need a quad. Your poor little E2180 with it's 1mb cache will be badly bottlenecking that card. On a side note, you psu is a load of cack too. You can get much better for £70. There is no way that thing will be able to deliver 700w.

That did make me chuckle. Yeah, I have decided to get the corsair PSU with it's 52a single 12v rail :eek:
If not to cure my problems, but just to be safe as it's not exactly a budget PC anymore, I've got an Intel SSD on the way as well, so I don't want to have it all die at the hands of that POS power supply :)
 
Associate
Joined
29 May 2005
Posts
1,049
Location
Hereford, Herefordshire
That did make me chuckle. Yeah, I have decided to get the corsair PSU with it's 52a single 12v rail :eek:
If not to cure my problems, but just to be safe as it's not exactly a budget PC anymore, I've got an Intel SSD on the way as well, so I don't want to have it all die at the hands of that POS power supply :)

its a good move mate ,make it a lot easer to clock the nuts of that new chip :D
 
Top Bottom