How long is too long?

Soldato
Hi guys

So I'm sat here wondering if its time for a job change. I'm 33 and have been in my current job for around 10-11 years. Before this job i worked at Staples for 6 and a half years. 2 years part time and then 4 and a half full time. With my current job i started on the helpdesk and have worked my way up through the levels to Datacentre Supervisor. I have no interest in managing people and if I'm honest i don't enjoy the non technical aspect of my current job. (Licencing and Datacentre stuff like contracts for fire suppression, AC etc..)

Before i became Datacentre Supervisor i was a European Infrastructure Engineer so would look after SANs, VMware, Citrix etc across our European entities and i found this a lot more interesting. However when you are offered a promotion and more money you take it i guess? I always thought if i didn't I'd basically be saying I've hit my limit and this is where i want to be. The new job was pretty much created specifically for me too!

Most of the morning I've been sat here wondering whether its time to look for something new or just stick out what I'm doing. As its my only IT job i don't know any better. I've been told by people who have moved to my company that its a good company to work for but they are going to say that aren't they.. Lol

As a sidenote which may or may not influence your answers i'm also son to a 1 year old and a wife that looks after him so we only have my wage coming in. (By the time childcare would've came out of hers there would be nothing left..) Also, we started our own business a few months back creating lasercut items for various local craft businesses. This is going well but it means that when i stop working here i then have to go home and start there and can be quite tiring. However, it would be something I'd love to expand in future if it ever became popular enough.

So, with all that in mind do i: