How old were you when you first built your PC?

My first PC, I was 24, my first computer was when I was 10. It was a Sinclair ZX80 in kit form from the news paper. I had to solder chips and resistors onto a PCB. However, some of the parts were faulty and it never booted so I had to send it back to Cambridge Research for testing. They sent it back working and with replacement resistors.

Last edited:
Permabanned
I only got my first PC at about 16. I installed hard drives and memory upgrades, but we didn't have any money so it was basically stuff other people gave away.

Did my first proper build at uni - about 20.

Soldato
Mid 30s (in the late 1990s).

Had laptops before this and purchased our first family PC from Tiny Computers (yes, i'm fully aware of how badly I was ripped off).

When this started to slow down after a couple of years and being an electronics technician myself, I thought "How hard can this be?" and had a go.

Built 2 more since and upgrade something every year once the laggiest item has a replacement with good VFM.

Soldato
I dabbled in upgrading PCs from 14-15 maybe, Frankensteining a load of OEM computers together, but my first build from Retail components was around 16.

Man of Honour
2004 was my first self build so I was 37 at the time. Had a couple of pre-built pc's before that and it was only after the last one that I had failed after 1 year and a couple of days and the retailer didn't want to know (they have gone bust since then so karma kicked in) that I started looking into building my own.

Associate
Saved up enough money to buy 2nd hand parts for my 15th birthday. Put it all together but it kept tripping out after 2 seconds. After a couple of days of racking my brain, my dad paid his mate £50 to have a look at it for me.

Turns out the case/mobo spacers ARE needed. Never made that mistake again!

Associate