How quickly will a car battery run out?

Capodecina
Soldato
If a car (Mk. 5 VW Polo GTI) is parked in the street outside my house, with only the burglar alarm using the battery, how long will it take for the battery to lose power to the extent that it will no longer start the car?

Underboss
How long can a car sit before the battery dies?
A new car battery fully charged, may last at least fourteen days without charging from the generator. It'll get discharged entirely from 2 to 3 months. You won't have the ability to start the engine of the car if you're planning to abandon it for 2.5 months on average

Man of Honour
I'm no expert but usually the parked battery drain (unless you have additional accessories or a fault) should be sub 1 watt - typically more like half a watt or so. So your average car battery probably has around 30 days or so before it won't be able to start but in practise I've seen vehicles start fine after longer than that.

(On my truck I have a just over 100ah battery so it should be good for much more than 2 months even).

EDIT: As above that assumes you are starting with a fully charged battery though.

Man of Honour
Days?!

I parked my car at Luton on October 31st and picked it up January 15th and it started immediately.

Also left my car on the drive for five months while I worked in China, again started with no issue.

Soldato
A good battery that's charged should easily last 2 months+.

A lot of it depends on the car, but let's say a draw of 30mAh on the battery while the car is locked up on a charged 60Ah battery. Theoretically that would last over 80 days before the battery is completely discharged. But there are so many different factors that can alter this, the car itself, how much of a drain it has on the battery, the age and condition of the battery itself, even down to the ambient temperature.

Last edited:
Soldato