How the hell do Currys stay in business?

Man of Honour
Joined
29 Mar 2003
Posts
53,867
Location
Stoke on Trent
That reminds me. Hopefully in the next month or so I'll be ditching my current 1MB internet and getting Gigabit FTTH (should be a hell of a difference) and so need to measure out how much cat5/cat6 I need to run from the front room to the upstairs back bedroom.

I've just had a reply off LilaConnect on Facebook.
Even though the cables have been down a couple of months the infrastructure still needs working on.
 
Soldato
Joined
21 Oct 2011
Posts
18,946
Location
ST4
I've just had a reply off LilaConnect on Facebook.
Even though the cables have been down a couple of months the infrastructure still needs working on.

Cheers for that. :) Should be the same for me then, the cables have been down in the street for a couple of months now but still no movement on them taking orders.
 
Commissario
Joined
17 Oct 2002
Posts
30,817
Location
Panting like a fiend
That reminds me. Hopefully in the next month or so I'll be ditching my current 1MB internet and getting Gigabit FTTH (should be a hell of a difference) and so need to measure out how much cat5/cat6 I need to run from the front room to the upstairs back bedroom.
Probably the easiest way to do it, if doing it yourself is to get a length of cat 5e (say 100m) some end connectors and a cheap crimp tool, that way you can get it more of less exactly the right length and route it more easily (~6mm cable rather than having to allow for a ~15mm diameter hole if going through any walls/floors).
 
Man of Honour
Joined
29 Mar 2003
Posts
53,867
Location
Stoke on Trent
Cheers for that. :) Should be the same for me then, the cables have been down in the street for a couple of months now but still no movement on them taking orders.

Full reply
Hi Dave, although the cables may have been laid, there is still further work to be done before areas go live, so it does take a few months after the build unfortunately. We'd be more than happy to offer you an indicative date - email your full address to [email protected] and we'll give you an idea as to when you'll be able to get a full fibre connection. Thank you!
1f642.png
 
Associate
Joined
1 Sep 2013
Posts
1,054
Full reply
Hi Dave, although the cables may have been laid, there is still further work to be done before areas go live, so it does take a few months after the build unfortunately. We'd be more than happy to offer you an indicative date - email your full address to [email protected] and we'll give you an idea as to when you'll be able to get a full fibre connection. Thank you!
1f642.png

not been down my road yet we live on a small street off a main road the other side of the main road was done months ago

i just want rid of bt
 
Associate
Joined
11 Feb 2011
Posts
1,937
Mouse wheel broke yesterday, so straight down Curries this morning as I've been wanting a wireless one. Wound up spending nearly £300 as I picked the G915 too. Lovely to type on.

To contradict their returns policy mentioned here, because I bought in store I cannot return these items as they've been used. But if I bought online, then that's okay to return...

Not impressed with their data collection at the till. Asking where I live wtf.
 
Soldato
Joined
21 Jan 2010
Posts
11,125
Mouse wheel broke yesterday, so straight down Curries this morning as I've been wanting a wireless one. Wound up spending nearly £300 as I picked the G915 too. Lovely to type on.

To contradict their returns policy mentioned here, because I bought in store I cannot return these items as they've been used. But if I bought online, then that's okay to return...

Not impressed with their data collection at the till. Asking where I live wtf.
RE Data, It's a double edge sword because if you lose the receipt they can look you up.

The returns policy being different online is a joke IMO. Shows they just do the bare minimum to meet the regs rather than consider the Customer experience.
 

V F

V F

Soldato
Joined
13 Aug 2003
Posts
20,306
Location
UK
Mouse wheel broke yesterday, so straight down Curries this morning as I've been wanting a wireless one. Wound up spending nearly £300 as I picked the G915 too. Lovely to type on.

To contradict their returns policy mentioned here, because I bought in store I cannot return these items as they've been used. But if I bought online, then that's okay to return...

Not impressed with their data collection at the till. Asking where I live wtf.

Logitech wireless mouse?
 
Soldato
Joined
26 Dec 2011
Posts
5,616
Location
City of London
Full reply
Hi Dave, although the cables may have been laid, there is still further work to be done before areas go live, so it does take a few months after the build unfortunately. We'd be more than happy to offer you an indicative date - email your full address to [email protected] and we'll give you an idea as to when you'll be able to get a full fibre connection. Thank you!
1f642.png
I got fibre laid in my road in June and it's still not active. It's Cityfibre who Vodafone and a few others use.
 
Soldato
Joined
27 Sep 2004
Posts
11,111
Location
The Ledge Beyond The Edge
Mouse wheel broke yesterday, so straight down Curries this morning as I've been wanting a wireless one. Wound up spending nearly £300 as I picked the G915 too. Lovely to type on.

To contradict their returns policy mentioned here, because I bought in store I cannot return these items as they've been used. But if I bought online, then that's okay to return...

Not impressed with their data collection at the till. Asking where I live wtf.

Isn’t that the same with all shops? The online returns policy is due to distance selling regulations.
 
Soldato
Joined
1 Sep 2003
Posts
3,186
Location
US of A
It's great to go and window shop then go online to actually buy something. Wish we had huge stores like in the US that sell isle and isles of computer bits

I used to live near a very large Fry's electronics store and I'd still much prefer to order anything that I'd need from Amazon.
 
Man of Honour
Joined
29 Jun 2003
Posts
34,079
Location
Wiltshire
That reminds me. Hopefully in the next month or so I'll be ditching my current 1MB internet and getting Gigabit FTTH (should be a hell of a difference) and so need to measure out how much cat5/cat6 I need to run from the front room to the upstairs back bedroom.
Even if you only need one cable, run a second at the same time as its far easier to do it then than later again, in case you need a second or there is an issue with the first.
 
Caporegime
Joined
12 Mar 2004
Posts
29,766
Location
England
Even if you only need one cable, run a second at the same time as its far easier to do it then than later again, in case you need a second or there is an issue with the first.

Definitely, 10Gb cat6 ethernet cables are so cheap these days it's best to run two.
 
Soldato
Joined
2 Jan 2005
Posts
8,182
Location
leeds
That reminds me. Hopefully in the next month or so I'll be ditching my current 1MB internet and getting Gigabit FTTH (should be a hell of a difference) and so need to measure out how much cat5/cat6 I need to run from the front room to the upstairs back bedroom.

get cat6a - cat6 is pretty much old hat now and cat5 is only good for scrap (and dont be fooled by cat7 - its useless)
 
Top