How to transfer text mesgs and WhatsApp conversations between iphone and Android?

Soldato
Just made the jump from an iPhone 6 that I've been using for a few years to a Huawei P30 Pro.

I've ran through the setup and used the Huawei Phone Clone app which moved my contacts over but that was about it. I have a number of SMS text messages on my old iPhone 6 that I'd desperately like to keep as well as a good few WhatsApp messages. Google throws up some solutions but most are only free trials and to actually do the job want to charge $40 ish.

Is there a free app option that will transfer SMS texts and WhatsApp conversations from iPhone to Android devices?

Cheers.

Soldato
Wazzup migrator worked for a friend, but it's a paid app. I don't think there are a lot of options for Whatsapp unfortunately.

Texts should be easier, cos Android can import from an XML file pretty easily.

Soldato
Wazzup migrator worked for a friend, but it's a paid app. I don't think there are a lot of options for Whatsapp unfortunately.

Texts should be easier, cos Android can import from an XML file pretty easily.
This worked flawlessly for me 3yrs ago when I moved my wife off her dated iPhone 4 to a OnePlus 3. Everyone else, even whatsapp support said it couldn't be done yet one app proved them wrong. Everything transferred across without a hitch.

Soldato
OP
Cool, I'm happy to pay for an app that will move my WhatsApp conversations across as there are things in there I really don't want to lose. As for the SMS text messages, any ideas how I can move them over? I'm absolutely flailing around here in the dark as I've always owned iPhones and iPads, Android is completely new to me so its a bit confuzzling!!

Soldato
SMS I think you're stuck for unless anyone else has managed it. iMessages is a closed system (I still believe)so off the top of my head I don't think it is possible unless iOS can export messages as XML, TXT etc.

Soldato