1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How would you fit this light?

Discussion in 'Home and Garden' started by jsmoke, 4 Mar 2021.

  1. jsmoke

    Capodecina

    Joined: 17 Jun 2012

    Posts: 10,591

  2. Haggisman

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Oct 2004

    Posts: 14,525

    Location: Birmingham

    It depends, where are you installing it, is there an existing connection?

    If you have to ask then probably not!
     
  3. SeatIbiza

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 21 Jan 2008

    Posts: 1,237

    Location: Cotswolds

    probably holes through the top mounted to the ceiling on wall plugs...
     
  4. 200sols

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 14 Jan 2018

    Posts: 8,172

    Location: Hampshire

    Easy to fit if your just replacing an existing fitting. Will be screw hole either end and terminal block for electrical connection.
     
  5. skyripper

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Jul 2011

    Posts: 2,180

    Did you read the install guide on that same page?

    If it's anything like the 2 LED Battens I got from Screwfix, piece of pish to install. Took longer to find the tools in my previously dark garage.

    Just turn the power off before you go unscrewing existing wiring.
     
  6. jsmoke

    Capodecina

    Joined: 17 Jun 2012

    Posts: 10,591

    There no existing wiring.
     
  7. skyripper

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Jul 2011

    Posts: 2,180

    Well that's going to take more effort than fitting the light. Are you running a new light circuit or extending an existing one?

    What's the existing wiring like? What's the access like? Can you work easily at that height in safety?
     
  8. K.C. Leblanc

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 13 Sep 2003

    Posts: 8,151

    Location: Glocestershire

    It's not ideal. But it comes with a 1.5 meter cable attached. You could always stick a plug on the end.

    As far as wiring it on so you have a normal light switch. Then that's not a job you could do with no prior knowledge. There's a lot of issues you could cause if you start making changes to your house wiring.
     
  9. jsmoke

    Capodecina

    Joined: 17 Jun 2012

    Posts: 10,591

    So it's not just plug and play. I thought you could run a cable through the roof and plug it into an existing socket.
     
  10. fobose

    Soldato

    Joined: 6 Dec 2005

    Posts: 5,157

    Location: Cambridge, UK.

    @jsmoke - get an electrician in.
     
  11. NoobCannon

    Soldato

    Joined: 13 Jun 2011

    Posts: 5,555

    If you are asking here then you need an electrician.
     
  12. K.C. Leblanc

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 13 Sep 2003

    Posts: 8,151

    Location: Glocestershire

    It would be if you put a plug on it!
     
  13. 200sols

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 14 Jan 2018

    Posts: 8,172

    Location: Hampshire

    You could wire it to a plug, change the fuse to 3amp. Many loft lights are wired like this.