1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. We recommend you enable 2FA on your OcUK forum account. Please see the thread here
    Dismiss Notice

I have a very old PC...

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by IwantanewPC, 28 Jul 2006.

  1. IwantanewPC

    Perma Banned

    Joined: 15 Jan 2006

    Posts: 388

    and it's very slow.

    The specs were something like,

    AMD Athlon 900mhz
    256mb(x2 128mb sticks) Infineon RAM
    Geforce 4 mx 440 Graphics Card

    I have a much better PC but I still use this one quite alot for general web-surfing and listening to music etc, but the problem is it's sooo bloody slow, even after a fresh install of Windows. It's at it's worse when you have more than 2-3 windows open..

    I decided, in hope more than expectation, to buy some more RAM to see if it'd speed it up some. I managed to get hold of 3x 256mb Kingston RAM after checking my mother supported it, and that each slot could hold that much memory etc.

    I removed the old RAM, and put this RAM in and booted up my PC but I don't see any increase in speed at all, nothing. I wasn't expecting a miracle but surely going from 256mb to 768mb was going to give me some kind of performance boost?

    Is the rest of my PC just a terrible bottleneck or is 768mb RAM a dodgy number to have? Will removing a stick, and thus having 512mn RAM, speed it up at all?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Talbs13

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Sep 2005

    Posts: 2,983

    Location: Everywhere

    Your looking at a CPU bottlekneck i would of thought. I Presume your comp is recognising the added RAM?
     
  3. IwantanewPC

    Perma Banned

    Joined: 15 Jan 2006

    Posts: 388

    It is indeed.
     
  4. Pookie Bear

    Soldato

    Joined: 28 Jun 2006

    Posts: 5,211

    Location: Newcastle upon Tyne

    I have an Athlon 900, 512mb RAM and an FX5200 and it runs with three or four windows open and can even run some older games like Medal of Honour and C&C Generals without too much bother, so I don't think the CPU is the bottleneck.....other than that, I can't offer much advice, but thought I'd at least show that it's not necessarily the problem...
     
  5. MrWhippy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 15 Sep 2005

    Posts: 1,700

    what's the make and model (and age) of the hard drive?

    and just out of interest, if you can, download and burn a DSL bootdisk and see if the old rig is any quicker browsing the web and general tasks using that. i suspect it will fly.
     
  6. t31os

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 May 2006

    Posts: 3,636

    Location: Surrey - UK

    I had a Duron 1000mhtz, with 512mb ram and a geforce2mx, and it would also not have a problem opening multiple windows or hosting a few basic RTS games, like AOM or C&C.
     
  7. semi-pro waster

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 25,822

    Location: Glasgow

    Since you say it is after a fresh install I'd probably be looking at the hard drive also and probably how many processes you have/need running. My old laptop is a PIII 850mhz with 128mb Ram and it takes a while to start up and boot fully into Windows but once there it is still reasonably nippy and easily capable of some light gaming, internet, music or word processing.