1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

I think I just melted my 470s:(

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by 3t3P, 14 Sep 2013.

  1. Rroff

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 13 Oct 2006

    Posts: 78,336

    CPU _should_ have survived the thermal management on them is pretty good these days.

    I actually wonder if the motherboard is the where the problem is even tho its not intuitive as that being where the fault is as those 470s will take a ridiculous amount of heat and survive ( I have some experience at trying to kill em ;) )
     
  2. Tonester0011

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Feb 2012

    Posts: 6,586

    Makes sense, the chips shutdown at 100c? Cannot really remember, something along those lines. The graphics cards even with 80c liquid were still probably cooler than when they were on stock coolers :D
     
  3. Rroff

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 13 Oct 2006

    Posts: 78,336

    Depends on the model 105C usually but I've seen ones with 109C and even 125C. Its possible the VRMs got too hot too quickly and were damaged though before thermal management kicked in.
     
  4. 3t3P

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Dec 2006

    Posts: 3,749

    I am getting error '94' on the mobo but the codes aren't even listed in tthe manual and googling it is proving hard can anyone help?

    Yeh the 470s are rated to 105 degrees, I was running max volts and clocks though whilst in game so they must have gotten to inferno levels.

    Haha rroff what did you put your 470s through?

    I loved those GPUs, we will never see 40% overclocked again!

    The mobo can support Ivy it seems but daymn those puppies cost a penny!
    Oh btw I am on 3602 BIOS which I checked pre-meltdown is the latest on the Asus site.

    I wonder if the mobo is dead too now haha
     
    Last edited: 14 Sep 2013
  5. Rroff

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 13 Oct 2006

    Posts: 78,336

    94 _probably_ means its tried to initialise the PCI/PCI-e bus and/or devices connected to it and failed which could either indicate something connected to them is dead and preventing booting or damage to the bus itself or both.
     
  6. Tonester0011

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Feb 2012

    Posts: 6,586

    ^ Beat me to it.
    Trouble shooting that is disconnecting things that share hardware signals.
     
  7. JonSmith

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 12 Feb 2011

    Posts: 1,088

    Try disconnecting the front panel USB headers, they share IRQs with the PCI-E bus and on some P67 boards are known to cause a boot failure.

    I'm assuming this is the VGA LED lit right?
     
    Last edited: 15 Sep 2013
  8. 3t3P

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Dec 2006

    Posts: 3,749

    it is the VGA MOBO light lit up in sinister red, not on the GPU itself.

    I don't have my front panel USB headers plugged in.

    So what to do next, disconnect the cards from each other (EK SLI bridge) then try card 2 in PCI-E slot 1?

    Heck I need more tubing for that!
     
  9. JonSmith

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 12 Feb 2011

    Posts: 1,088

    Try that, and unplug all peripherals except your keyboard and the screen.
     
  10. Tonester0011

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Feb 2012

    Posts: 6,586

    Take out your sound card at the bottom and unplug the power cables from the bottom card.

    Edit: If you still have? Just checking your build log!
     
  11. 3t3P

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Dec 2006

    Posts: 3,749

    The nvidia 3D emitter is emitting an ominous red glow but it does show that some USB devices are getting power.

    I have a soundcard between the GPUs though I am not actually using it these days, i am using a fiio e7 DAC amp instead. I can take it out though?

    Going to sleep now, will try tomorrow the suggestions.

    also if the CPU is fried I think 22nm Ivy i5 will be best bang for buck for me, the OEM 3.4GHZ one.

    Night all
     
  12. gurusan

    Capodecina

    Joined: 2 Sep 2006

    Posts: 13,483

    Location: Portland, OR

    Obviously something is wrong...but hardware shouldn't self destruct these days from high temperatures. Throttling should occur and if things get really bad the PC should shut down.
     
  13. eddyr

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 27 Aug 2008

    Posts: 1,682

    Location: London

    If the pump worked when plugged into a molex connector it does sound like the aquero may not have supplied the start up voltage that the pump required. Although it would surprise me that a controller designed to power pumps wouldn't have a specific feature to provide the initial voltage to get it going.
     
  14. 3t3P

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Dec 2006

    Posts: 3,749

    eddyr you are correct usually and on every boot the aquaero provides 100% power to the pump at POST, then halfway to windows desktop it throttles it down.

    So I am used to hearing a loud WHRRRR then whhhrrrr. I have a memory blackspot on that fateful boot, I can't for the life of me remember if it made the loud whirring or not.

    Gurusan that's what I thought too. I trust CPUs much more to protect themselves than GPUs.

    Last night I unplugged all peripherals except keyboard, still didn't power the KB on.

    I'm going out now so can't troubleshoot but appreciate peoples continued input, this is my largest hardware catastrophe to date!
     
  15. silversurfer

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Jul 2004

    Posts: 19,447

    Location: Stanley Hotel, Colorado

    A quad cpu will run at very high temps, far higher then most people realise near to three figures. If the heatsink was solidly fixed on then I would doubt you could do more then cause a crash.
    If the problem was physically the heatsink was not seated properly then it can be terminal. GPU is different and I dont water cool but its the same problem of heat and the water just alters the cooling of the sink not the card directly?

    I dont think you can know till you transfer each part to a working machine and see if it operates when fitted in a stock like condition. Ive been through things like this and found it was a bad worn IDE cable which was unbelievably simple hence I tried/removed it last of all
     
  16. 3t3P

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Dec 2006

    Posts: 3,749

    My PC is buggered because the pump was not on causing GPU/CPU overheat with potential motherboard damage it looks like now.

    Your idea of trying parts in another machine is valid but if only it were a worn out IDE cable!
     
  17. 3t3P

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Dec 2006

    Posts: 3,749

    PHEW!
    Put in HD4350 from another PC leaving my 470s in the WC loop but not plugged in.

    The CPU and MOBO are fine:D

    Also worked out why the other PC would freeze after a few mins of use, cos the tiny HSF on the GPU was clogged with dust!

    Have killed two birds.

    Happy chap.

    Crossing fingers for sub £300 3rd part cooler 770s when AMD launch on the 25th.
     
  18. Jerry64

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Mar 2012

    Posts: 1,424

    Location: South West

    Glad to here CPU and MOBO are fine
     
  19. 3t3P

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Dec 2006

    Posts: 3,749

    Cheers so am I mate, so am I
     
  20. Suarez7

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 18 Oct 2012

    Posts: 9,784

    Should of melted the lot so you could get a whole new top spec i7 system.

    I joke, good to hear CPU and MOBO survived the heat wave.