1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

i5 750 oc for a newbie

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Wiry, 1 Jan 2013.

  1. Wiry

    Hitman

    Joined: 27 Apr 2011

    Posts: 547

    Location: Nottinghamshire

    Hi everyone,

    I've owned my Intel i5 750 for about 3 years now and although it's still a brilliant chip, it's struggling to keep up with my 7970's standards... Especially seen as though my i5 is maxing out in games. So anyway to the point, basically I used to overclock my graphics cards using software like afterburner. Is there any equivalent software for my cpu? It would be far easier for me.. I've tried overclocking it through the bios before as I know this is the best way but it didn't go too well. My spec is in my sig.
     
  2. Wiry

    Hitman

    Joined: 27 Apr 2011

    Posts: 547

    Location: Nottinghamshire

    anyone?
     
  3. eddie86

    Gangster

    Joined: 2 Jan 2009

    Posts: 302

    The only software I have seen has been provided by the motherboard manufacturer, e.g. ASUS AI Suite.

    Don't be too afraid of overclocking via the BIOS though. I can give you some advice if you want?

    What clock speed are you looking to go for? And what CPU cooler are you using?
     
  4. RiseAgainst

    Hitman

    Joined: 5 Apr 2011

    Posts: 515

    As far as I am aware as this is not a K version processor that multiplier is locked. I have also heard that trying to OC using the base clock is very temperamental on intel chips
     
  5. j.col

    Mobster

    Joined: 31 May 2010

    Posts: 4,190

    Location: Bedfordshire

    I done a similar thread not long ago, have a look here for some settings http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showthread.php?t=18436135

    basically
    set vcore to 1.35v ish
    raise bclk to 190, and the multiplier is 20, so your speed will be 3800mhz or 3.8GHz.
    make sure ram is at its rated speed, u can adjust this with the ram ratio divider.

    run Intel burn test (ibt) for 10 passes on max memory with 4 threads.
    if it passes, raise bclk to 200 and test again. repeat until unstable
    if it fails, either reduce bclk by 10mhz or increase the vcore to 1.36v and test again.
     
  6. eddie86

    Gangster

    Joined: 2 Jan 2009

    Posts: 302

    There never was a K version for the i5 750 but you do get a choice of multipliers, up to x20 (or x21 if the motherboard allows it).

    I am currently running 200 MHz base clock (stock 133) with a x19 multiplier to get 3.8GHz but more is achievable with a better cooling solution.

    With a good cooler, 200 MHz base clock and a x21 multiplier (4.2 GHz) should be attainable.

    By changing the base clock you will affect other things in the system (e.g. RAM frequency) so there is more possibility for things to get unstable, so in that respect it's more tempremental I suppose. Not a big problem though tbh.
     
  7. Wiry

    Hitman

    Joined: 27 Apr 2011

    Posts: 547

    Location: Nottinghamshire

    Thanks for all the help guys! I'll report back when I've tried some of your tips :) I've actually got a 120mm rad with a waterblock, so I should be able to achieve a decent clock right, providing my processor will push that far.
     
  8. Wiry

    Hitman

    Joined: 27 Apr 2011

    Posts: 547

    Location: Nottinghamshire

    Well it's a while since I opened this thread and thought I'd let you helpful guys know how I went on. Managed to get the i5 750 to 4.2GHz / 4200MHz (20 x 210MHz) -1.36 Vcore. Managed to get my ram etc stable after fiddling about for a while. Currently runs at about 33^celcius idle & about 55^celcius (max) in prime95 / Ibt.
     
  9. the1gooner

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 8 Sep 2009

    Posts: 2,260

    Location: Swindon

    Thats a good overclock. I have an i5 760 and have only really pushed it to 4.0ghz. But then i do only have a cheap air cooler.

    Greats chips though still.
     
  10. IRLeetly

    Mobster

    Joined: 9 Oct 2011

    Posts: 2,846

    Location: Edge of Sanity

    Same here with the 760, good chips.
     
  11. pastymuncher

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 12 Jul 2005

    Posts: 19,285

    Location: Aberlour, NE Scotland

    Thats an impressive clock. My 760 needs 1.375v for 4.2Ghz.
     
  12. kristmace

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Dec 2010

    Posts: 1,372

    Location: W. Yorkshire

    I've had mine overclocked without a voltage increase. Got 3.6 without any real problems, and that's enough for me so i've left it.

    My old Asrock mobo has some excellent software to overclock from within Windows. The Gigabyte software on my current mobo is slightly disappointing tbh.
     
  13. Blue160

    Mobster

    Joined: 26 Oct 2010

    Posts: 2,891

    Location: Leatherhead

    That's a cracking overclock :)

    My 750 hits a wall at 4.1GHz no matter what voltage I put through it.
     
  14. jamesgoss

    Gangster

    Joined: 6 Jan 2009

    Posts: 425

    How on earth have you managed to keep it at 55 degrees on full load? I've got a Megahalems and am struggling at 75! :confused:

    I've been mucking around with my 750 the last couple of days. Was stuck at 3.8 at 1.375v but switched the multiplier to 21 and am now on 4.05 at 1.36v. Seeing how low I can push the volts at this frequency...
     
  15. Wiry

    Hitman

    Joined: 27 Apr 2011

    Posts: 547

    Location: Nottinghamshire

    I've got a custom watercooling loop.. Only with a 120mm rad but it's quite nifty for what it is :p
     
  16. j.col

    Mobster

    Joined: 31 May 2010

    Posts: 4,190

    Location: Bedfordshire

    Are the temps u getting using Intel Burn Test? or just gaming?
     
  17. TrojanWhore

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Sep 2010

    Posts: 1,245

    sorry OP for a slight thread backtrack, but just to clarify, both the points Riseagainst made here are relevant to 2nd and 3rd Gen Core i series processors, for your first gen i5, there was no 'K' version.

    equally, clocking by altrering the base clock is fine on your 750, and as others have suggested, a base clock of around 200 is commonly achievable.
    2nd and 3rd Gen are more sensitive to changing the base clock, as other systems such a SATA and PCI derive their bus speeds from this same clock generator, whereas in first gen platforms, this was still controlled by a chip on the motherboard (called PCH or sometimes Northbridge)
     
  18. Wiry

    Hitman

    Joined: 27 Apr 2011

    Posts: 547

    Location: Nottinghamshire

    intel burn test / prime95
     
  19. Wiry

    Hitman

    Joined: 27 Apr 2011

    Posts: 547

    Location: Nottinghamshire

    I've just noticed something that I previously haven't noticed.. the multipliers are different? I'm not having any issues but why would this be. The multiplier in the bios is set to x20.

    [​IMG]
     
  20. j.col

    Mobster

    Joined: 31 May 2010

    Posts: 4,190

    Location: Bedfordshire

    what does cpu-z say?