1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

i7-3770k to i7-6600

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Zarax, 15 Oct 2021.

  1. Zarax

    Gangster

    Joined: 3 May 2021

    Posts: 268

    I have a chance of getting an i7-6600 PC for free, I was wondering if it would be a decent upgrade from my old i7-3770k for gaming.

    Do you guys have any idea or any good benchmark?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Lmg80

    Hitman

    Joined: 20 Nov 2016

    Posts: 683

  3. Zarax

    Gangster

    Joined: 3 May 2021

    Posts: 268

  4. Fluffybob

    Hitman

    Joined: 3 Aug 2011

    Posts: 747

    Location: Lancashire

    Not a lot in it but you can OC the 3770k
     
  5. Zarax

    Gangster

    Joined: 3 May 2021

    Posts: 268

    I'd rather not push old hardware right now, I'm just trying to see if a later non-k chip can be better than what I have.
     
  6. Emlyn_Dewar

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Oct 2003

    Posts: 13,238

    Location: Chengdu

    Since it's free, it's a good upgrade. Not going to set the world on fire, but I'd do it.
     
  7. Tetras

    Mobster

    Joined: 22 Jun 2006

    Posts: 4,284

    If it's free I'd get it, especially if you run at stock (assuming i7-6700). Since even without taking the CPU into account, it's a much newer platform. Have you got to buy a whole system to go with it though?
     
  8. Panos

    Capodecina

    Joined: 22 Nov 2009

    Posts: 13,252

    Location: Under the hot sun.

    Whole PC or just the CPU? Because CPU on it's own is incompatible with your motherboard and RAM.
     
  9. Drollic

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Feb 2013

    Posts: 3,796

    Location: East Midlands

    Worth it if stock 3770k, but barely worth the hassle of changing if clocked if you value your time.
     
  10. Zarax

    Gangster

    Joined: 3 May 2021

    Posts: 268

    I currently have a custom build 3770k, while I have the opportunity to get my old office PC equipped with the 6700k non K. They both come with 16GB RAM, I would move the office motherboard in my case so I will take CPU, RAM, motherboard and cooler while using my case and PSU.
     
  11. cjgardens

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Aug 2010

    Posts: 2,345

    Sell both and buy something newer?
     
  12. Joxeon

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 15 Oct 2019

    Posts: 7,993

    Location: Uk

    That's good thinking.
     
  13. Panos

    Capodecina

    Joined: 22 Nov 2009

    Posts: 13,252

    Location: Under the hot sun.

    Great stuff then. Use it :)
     
  14. Zarax

    Gangster

    Joined: 3 May 2021

    Posts: 268

    That's the plan as soon as I get a new GPU. Meanwhile, I'm trying to understand if replacing a K with a slightly newer non K CPU of the same class can bring any benefits.
     
  15. Zarax

    Gangster

    Joined: 3 May 2021

    Posts: 268

    This is a pretty heavily used PC from late 2012, I'm not sure pushing it is a good idea.
     
  16. mickyflinn

    Capodecina

    Joined: 23 Mar 2011

    Posts: 13,076

    Location: West Side

    Would be intresting to know what motherboard the 6700 comes with and if its a single 16 gb of memory or 2x 8gb.
     
  17. Tetras

    Mobster

    Joined: 22 Jun 2006

    Posts: 4,284

    If you're not overclocking and it has the same core/thread count, then it relies on clock speed and improvements to the cores. There are marginal improvements to each generation, so from a pure performance point of view, it's not going to make much difference. At stock settings the K CPUs don't offer you anything. If you had a heavily overclocked 3770k it would actually be a downgrade in performance.
     
  18. CAT-THE-FIFTH

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Nov 2009

    Posts: 21,926

    Location: Planet Earth

    In certain games Skylake showed decent improvements over IB, so it would be worth the upgrade IMHO. It's mostly in games which are single thread and latency dependent, and is shown in the minimums.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: 17 Oct 2021