ICE setup......any thoughts?

Soldato
I've been looking at a basic budget ICE setup for my 02 focus for a couple of weeks now....this is where i've got.

HU - Apline 9853
http://caraudiosecurity.com/shop/product/products_id/3454.html

AMP - JBL 75.4
http://caraudiosecurity.com/shop/product/products_id/2911.html

Comps - Rainbow SLX 265 deluxe
http://caraudiosecurity.com/shop/product/products_id/3966.html

SUB - Alpine 1022D with box
http://caraudiosecurity.com/shop/product/products_id/3897.html

Going to run it off 4 guage power.

Don't really want to go above the £550 mark for the complete install....anything there i should be considering changing?

Associate
I got all my gear off that site, tis very good.

Have you looked at the packages on offer, my package consisted of 2x1000 watt JBL subs + box 1400 watt Crunch amp and wiring kit for £280 which I thought was pretty good

Soldato
i like the idea (ive been mucking about with ICE for about 10 years) i like simple setups, its the most effective way to do it.

nice comps up front, single sub, amps.

i think the amp will be the weak link. its fine for up front but i dont think it will have enough grunt for the sub.

the sub say 1500w (so 750rms maybe?)

with subs its a good idea to have 10% more power than necessary as "headroom" so that the amp is not stressed.

a stressed amp will effect the sound of the sub and can eventually kill the sub due to clipping

good start tho

personally, my favourite budget way of doing a sys was a nice head unit... use the 4 output to biamp the front components

then an amp and sub

i am dying to get a cheap car to stick my amp and sub in this summer

Soldato
OP
the sub rating is 200-500rms....

i know what you mean about power....but i've not got the funds to get a mono amp to shove the power it needs.

Bridging the spare two channels will give me 285wrms.....so should do a reasonable job of powering it.?

Soldato
OP
Matt82 said: