Installed my new system but need help

Associate
Joined
2 Aug 2011
Posts
1,147
Location
Newbury
I noticed on the mobo theres 4 lights, 2 are green, one yellow and one red.

Also on the bio screen when I click delete to enter it, this happens to the screen, please help!

296882_10150314900583963_510573962_8073734_743656369_n.jpg


319928_10150314900253963_510573962_8073732_79160161_n.jpg
 
Associate
OP
Joined
2 Aug 2011
Posts
1,147
Location
Newbury
Hi Stu :)

i5 2500k, the mobo you suggested Z68 UD3. Same ram as my sig, only other thing new is an 64GB M4 SSD.

I unplugged the SSD power and now I can get into the bios.... wtf lol
 
Associate
OP
Joined
2 Aug 2011
Posts
1,147
Location
Newbury
Yeah its gotta be something to do with the SSD. When its unplugged its fine, so Ill try another Sata port. if its an issue with the ports, this would be the 2nd UD3 board in a row thats had the issue
 
Caporegime
Joined
17 Jan 2010
Posts
66,804
Location
weston-super-mare
The Phase LEDs only light up during the post, they go out when in Windows.

If you install the Smart6 utility then they come back on to show the loading, using this utility you can cut back on the VRM phases/CPU power usage being used and try and save power, the Phase LEDS then start to turn off one at a time depending n the power usage.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
2 Aug 2011
Posts
1,147
Location
Newbury
You are right about the H100 stock fans, I've made a push/pull set up with the stock fans outside the case. I think I need a fan controller as they are going fast/loud. My room is so hot :(
 
Associate
OP
Joined
2 Aug 2011
Posts
1,147
Location
Newbury
The Phase LEDs only light up during the post, they go out when in Windows.

If you install the Smart6 utility then they come back on to show the loading, using this utility you can cut back on the VRM phases/CPU power usage being used and try and save power, the Phase LEDS then start to turn off one at a time depending n the power usage.

also, I dont know what you mean, remember I'm slow :D and poor thanks to you :)
 
Caporegime
Joined
17 Jan 2010
Posts
66,804
Location
weston-super-mare
also, I dont know what you mean, remember I'm slow :D and poor thanks to you :)

Those LEDS will disappear when the PC is booted into the desktop.

There is a program on the disk called Smart6, you can use this to save power, the LEDS will come back on with it activated and will increase or decresase in number as the power usage varies.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
2 Aug 2011
Posts
1,147
Location
Newbury
Those LEDS will disappear when the PC is booted into the desktop.

There is a program on the disk called Smart6, you can use this to save power, the LEDS will come back on with it activated and will increase or decresase in number as the power usage varies.


Will it effect the overclock when I come to doing that?
 
Caporegime
Joined
17 Jan 2010
Posts
66,804
Location
weston-super-mare
Will it effect the overclock when I come to doing that?

Don't know, only ever installed the program once to see what it did. It also gives you a read out of "wattage saved to date" with it installed.


also, quick boot, should I enable that?

YEp, also turn the SATA controllers to AHCI for the SSD.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
2 Aug 2011
Posts
1,147
Location
Newbury
Yup all set and windows is running, however since installing all the drivers from the mobo disk, the screen is like a green, pink colour. Kinda like when you have no drivers.. How do I update the drives as I'm using on-board at the moment
 
Top Bottom