1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Intel i5 2500k on sale?

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by dave_beast, 19 Dec 2010.

  1. dave_beast

    Soldato

    Joined: 21 Sep 2009

    Posts: 5,249

    Location: London

  2. Troezar

    Mobster

    Joined: 6 Aug 2009

    Posts: 4,904

    Odd expected prices I saw were as a direct replacement for the i5 760. £245 sounds a but steep..
     
  3. Jokester

    Don

    Joined: 7 Aug 2003

    Posts: 42,179

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    2500K seems to be where it's at, only £8 more than the non K version.
     
  4. Si105

    Hitman

    Joined: 24 Apr 2010

    Posts: 915

    2500k is the one most will be interested in, including myself.
     
  5. ScarySquirrel

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Jan 2004

    Posts: 23,605

    Location: South East

    Which of the 4 motherboards is the pick of the bunch there? I never really know what to look for in a motherboard, as long as it has lots of SATA connections that's all I really know :(
     
  6. Liampope

    Mobster

    Joined: 8 Jan 2010

    Posts: 3,380

    Location: Bedford/Stavanger

    £245 is for the 2600k which is an i7. 2500k is the i5 760 replacement.
     
  7. NathWraith

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Dec 2005

    Posts: 11,160

    Location: Cheshire

  8. r3loaded

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Mar 2006

    Posts: 383

    Location: Manchester, UK

    I love the pic! :D
     
  9. Troezar

    Mobster

    Joined: 6 Aug 2009

    Posts: 4,904

    Phew thanks, must have been too early in the morning for me! Thought my budget had been blown out the water for a minute:D
     
  10. UberTiger

    Mobster

    Joined: 1 Nov 2008

    Posts: 3,861

    +1 :D
     
  11. ScarySquirrel

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Jan 2004

    Posts: 23,605

    Location: South East

    Awesome, not much more expensive than the current lineup then :)

    Yay to upgrades!
     
  12. mothermachine

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 8 Oct 2004

    Posts: 2,283

    given this is dual channel i guess that means we're back down to a realistic max of 8GB then? also there don't seem to be any 6-core models listed. seems like a step back in terms of raw speed and flexibility for the sake of a few extra features to me.
     
  13. KCartlidge

    Associate

    Joined: 28 Apr 2010

    Posts: 31

    Location: Newcastle Under Lyme

    You will buy now, but still have to wait! The retailer will put them up onsite now to get ahead on there sales!
     
  14. Dark_Angel

    Capodecina

    Joined: 12 May 2005

    Posts: 12,634

    8GB dimms are pretty cheap now compared to what they were....

    16GB really if you can 'cough up' the extra.
     
  15. bulldog147

    Soldato

    Joined: 22 Mar 2009

    Posts: 5,520

    50x100 5Ghz (100mhz bus speed) but what about qpi link ? could be less than 2000mhz ?

    Sandybridge is very interesting, I might look out for i7 2600K as these can do 5ghz with gtx260 graphic card, mega air cooler. But performance could less than i7 920d0 for gaming ?
     
  16. NathWraith

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Dec 2005

    Posts: 11,160

    Location: Cheshire

    Jesus bulldog, I will personally prevent you from buying sandybridge until you upgrade that GFX card!
     
  17. rjk

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Aug 2007

    Posts: 25,327

    oh my palmhead
     
  18. Dark_Angel

    Capodecina

    Joined: 12 May 2005

    Posts: 12,634

    Maybe he doesn't game!

    I'm still running a 4850 512 MB! :(

    I refuse to touch anything until Sandy is out.... hint... have good GPU offers on sandy's launch hint :p:D


    :o
     
  19. NathWraith

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Dec 2005

    Posts: 11,160

    Location: Cheshire

    I know for a fact he plays FSX, so he needs to upgrade!
     
  20. Dark_Angel

    Capodecina

    Joined: 12 May 2005

    Posts: 12,634

    On that GPU, he needs a miracle never mind an upgrade! :p