1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

*** Intel i7 4790K 5GHz Club ***

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by smsmasters, Jul 1, 2014.

  1. smsmasters

    Mobster

    Joined: Aug 26, 2004

    Posts: 3,194

    Location: Planet Earth, soon Mars.

    Those who have managed to reach the elusive 5 GHz may wish to post in here.

    Post screenshots with CPU-Z and at least a 1M SuperPi run.

    You must also provide a CPU-Z validation link with your OCUK username included.

    You may also include other benchmarks and tests if you wish but the above is the minimum requirement.


    All the best!

    I cannot be held responsible for any and all damage related to hardware loss or data or software, which the user might cause while overclocking their hardware or computer.
    Additionally, I am taking the liberty to assume that anyone who attempts to overclock their computer hardware understands the risks involved.
    Such risks include, but aren’t limited to, failure of hardware, voiding warranties, and data corruption.


    Mine is an awesome low voltage overclocker!
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2014
  2. smsmasters

    Mobster

    Joined: Aug 26, 2004

    Posts: 3,194

    Location: Planet Earth, soon Mars.

  3. Scramz

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 25, 2013

    Posts: 1,647

    Location: Kent

    4690k here, or will it show up the 4790k? lol

    I need to see if I can find a fully stable point. This chip is L3 BTW.

    http://valid.x86.fr/yzenep
     
  4. Techen

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 5, 2012

    Posts: 2,097

    Intel Core i5-4690K 3.50GHz (Devil's Canyon) Socket LGA1150 Processor - Retail

    Here, Am not as rich as some of you kids. I still plan to get my 4690k to 5ghz so eh >:C Custom loop ftw.
     
  5. Scramz

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 25, 2013

    Posts: 1,647

    Location: Kent

    I am running a Noctua D14 on my 4690k @ 5ghz and the temps are nice and low :D Intel must have change the TIM.
     
  6. Techen

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 5, 2012

    Posts: 2,097

    Ohman, I love you. 5ghz for me.

    It's an hour away from my house, Just waiting for the package to come. The wait is killing me! :p
     
  7. Techen

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 5, 2012

    Posts: 2,097

    Sorry for hijacking, Posting in the other thread :p
     
  8. ViRuS2k

    Soldato

    Joined: Jan 26, 2004

    Posts: 5,931

    Location: Scotland

    reserved until i get mine delided at the weekend :)
     
  9. eyetrip

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Nov 8, 2006

    Posts: 8,933

    Hope I can hit 5ghz.

    No way am I delisting. Killed a beautiful 3770k some time back doing that.

    Not risking again.
     
  10. ViRuS2k

    Soldato

    Joined: Jan 26, 2004

    Posts: 5,931

    Location: Scotland

    I would not want to delist a cpu either :D sounds naughty.
     
  11. eyetrip

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Nov 8, 2006

    Posts: 8,933

    Darn autocorrect! :)

    Well, currently lying in bed with my CPU.... Though am sure nothing naughty will happen.

    Having just said that, I realise how odd it is for a grown man to be lying in bed at this time with a CPU.

    It's only cause I have to rebuild my PC completely, loop and all, and can never sleep in when I have such a big task at hand. In the hopes of maybe getting back to sleep, thought I would go over mobo manual more, and while at it, check the batch number on CPU.

    L336d107 with an e4 in a circle.....whatever that means.

    It's a Malay chip. My best chip ever was a Costa Rican 3770k. It was the one I killed. Rip(ieces)
     
  12. amigafan2003

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 18, 2008

    Posts: 14,517

    Location: Fylde Coast, Lancashire

    Cmon, lets see if these 4790k's can match the 4770k's:-

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Combat Fighter

    Soldato

    Joined: Jun 6, 2009

    Posts: 5,061

    Location: No Mans Land

    I need a magnifying glass to read that!
     
  14. LaneyEFC

    Gangster

    Joined: Feb 18, 2014

    Posts: 194

    Location: Liverpool

    Try clicking on the image it helps ;)
     
  15. jimbaw

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 19, 2013

    Posts: 1,282

    Location: Penrith, Cumbria

    what are the temps like with 1.4?
     
  16. Combat Fighter

    Soldato

    Joined: Jun 6, 2009

    Posts: 5,061

    Location: No Mans Land

    Tried already and it still does not work!
     
  17. Tonester0011

    Soldato

    Joined: Feb 27, 2012

    Posts: 6,586

    ;)

    [​IMG]
     
  18. PCZ

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 25, 2006

    Posts: 1,356

    [​IMG]
     
  19. FlanK3r

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 12, 2014

    Posts: 244

    Location: Czech Republic

    5300?! Ufff, what type of cooling? And batch?:)


    There is my ES :-/
    [​IMG]
     
  20. nniitt

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 1, 2013

    Posts: 362

    Don't think air cooling would take 4770k to that clock, could be phase change.