Intel vs AMD

Associate
I need to know why you are all Advising to buy AMD instead of Intel. ??
I have always gone for Intel as I am a photographer. (I do NOT game).

So what would you advice for a Photographer...Photoshop/Lightroom/On1 RAW etc. etc.
Budget around £800.
THANKS

Soldato
For gaming machines they generally offer better performance per £ as they are well priced at the moment, and tend to offer more cores so there's an element of future proofing going on.

If you have a more niche activity, such as no gaming but lots of photo editing then you'd have to look at performance benchmarks for the particular apps you most use.

Soldato
Have a browse through Puget Systems website. They're doing a good job of testing hardware for specific usage scenarios.

https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/a...adripper-2-Intel-9th-Gen-Intel-X-series-1529/

https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/a...formance-AMD-Threadripper-3990X-64-Core-1657/

To add to that - Intel hyperthreading vulnerabilities. Value for money, e.g. 6 core 12 thread v 6 core 6 thread. Fact there's not much difference in single-core speed now, though an overclocked modern Intel still pips Ryzen 3000 there. And to that we can add that existing motherboards will support Ryzen 4000, which may (or may not) finally take the single-core crown from Intel.

Soldato
I think it helps AMD that they don't change compatability and sockets as fast as Intel historically do as well.
So you don't nesseserilly need a new motherboard if you want to upgrade the CPU in future.

Associate
OP